Tuesday Tech Question (12/17)
The Tuesday Tech Question is a fun section where prospective technical inspectors or anyone who wants to get a better idea of how to work the NHRA Rulebook can test their knowledge and search abilities. If you have an NHRA Rulebook, try and find the answer to the question in the book before looking down at the answer. If you don’t have a Rulebook but are an NHRA Member, you can download a pdf at nhra.com under ‘Member Benefits’.
I just bought a carburetor-equipped alcohol burning Super Pro car from my buddy. I noticed today that he has the catch can overflowing into the headers. Is this legal?
Catch Can Charlie
.Catch Can Charlie,
Yes, that is a legal option. Section 20 ‘General Regulations’, Subsection 1:7, ‘Liquid Overflow’ Sentence four states ‘Overflow may be routed into headers on cars that are supercharged or burn nitromethane or alcohol.