Tuesday Tech Question (03/25)
The Tuesday Tech Question is a fun section where prospective technical inspectors or anyone who wants to get a better idea of how to work the NHRA Rulebook can test their knowledge and search abilities. If you have an NHRA Rulebook, try and find the answer to the question in the book before looking down at the answer. If you don’t have a Rulebook but are an NHRA Member, you can download a pdf at nhra.com under ‘Member Benefits’.
I’ve heard that new rules allow me to use the tachometer built-in to my delay box. Is this rumor true? If so, are there any other rules I need to keep in mind when using this feature?
Delay Box Dan
Delay Box Dan,
Yes, what you have heard is true. Racers may now connect their delay box to the ignition system and utilize built-in tachometers and RPM switches. Keep in mind that all wiring associated with the ignition system must continue to be fully visible, labeled, and traceable. Also, please keep in mind that only one tachometer is allowed.