Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

NHRDA Pacific Coast Diesel Nationals Done & Done

The NHRDA Pacific Coast Diesel Nationals presented by ISSPRO was completed earlier, with wins being awarded to Jarid Vollmer, (Pro Stock, Pro Street), Rob Coddens (Super Street), Larry Strawn (10.90), Matt Rumgay (Super Diesel), John Floyd Jr (Sportsman), and Jim Fields (Pickup).  Exciting diesel racing action was ran all throughout the day, with the final show going with the sled pulls that entertained all in attendance.  Check out photos on our official Facebook page.

For the Pro Stock class, there was a bit of excitement all around! Rob Coddens, running in the ’73 Nova, had an unfortunate incident in the third time trial pass.  Launching hard off the line, the Nova flew through down to the 1/8th mile mark before an engine detonation caused oil under the tires, sending the Nova into a skidding terror that ended with him plowing into the NAPA Auto Parts retainer wall, before coming to a screeching halt roughly 1000 feet farther down the track.  In the final round, Jarid Vollmer out of Chubbuck ID. ran a 8.076 at 173.37mph to finish the class.

In the Super Street class, Rob Coddens came back around to win this category after going wire-to-wire with the number one qualifying position and a stellar 10.394 at 131.19mph.

For the 10.90 index class, Larry Strawn took his crazy ’31 Dodge to a 11.268 at 117.87mph pass as the lone competitor in the category.

The Super Diesel category is for vehicles running on an 11.90 index.  Matt Rumgay and Verlon Southwick faced off in the finals, with the win light going to Rumgay by running a 12.007 @ 112.78mph.

In the Sportsman bracket category, John Floyd Jr took down Mat Ray in the final round by just .033.  Michael Pliska was the lone semi-finalist.

The last class of the day was the Pickup Series, a regular at Woodburn Dragstrip that featured Jim Fields and Steve Sherman in the finals.  Fields defeated Steve Nicholson, Tony Bombara, and a single.  Meanwhile, Sherman eliminated Tim McDaniel, Bart Sowa, and Mike Grady.  In the finals, Fields had the reaction time advantage, and won the race on a double-breakout finish with the win going to Fields.

Comments are closed.