Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Champions decided in Fall ET and World of Speed Fall Jr Series

The final day of bracket racing action was completed after a thick and foggy start.  Racing was completed in seven classes, with individuals winners of Bill Heard (Electronics), Robert Steffen (Transbrake), Earl Eberly (Foot Brake), Chloe Hoffman (Jr Lightning), Rilynn Saucy (Jr Thunder), and Conner Rice (Jr Tuff).  Additionally, season championships were earned for Heard (Electronics), Rick Sales Sr (Transbrake), Tracy Herinckx (Foot Brake), Jake Meithof (Jr Lightning), and Saucy (Jr Thunder).  All in all, it was a great time for all at the final bracket event of 2015.  Stay tuned to our website (www.woodburndragstrip.com) as well as our official Facebook page (www.facebook.com/woodburndragstrip) for updates throughout the offseason!

The Electronics category final round came down to Bill Heard and Scott Nuciforo in a winner-take-all final.  Heard made his way there by defeating Jeremy Chaney, Douglas Maurer, and     Justin Budd.  In the finals, Nuciforo left with the reaction time advantage but ended up missing the win by under .001!! Budd was the number one qualifier.

Transbrake eliminations brought a powerful final round between Robert Steffen and Rick Sales Sr.  Steffen, who eliminated Dan Goates, Nicholas Shepherd, and Alan Snyder, did it again in the finals against Sales Sr.  Leaving with the .028 reaction time advantage, he won in a double-breakout finish by a slim .021.  Steffen was also the number one qualifier, with a .007 light.

Earl Eberly and Paul Warner lined up alongside each other in the Foot Brake final round.  Eberly, in his second appearance of the season in the Fall Series, defeated Lavonne Goodman, Bob Caldwell, George Simpson, and Eric Dunks.  In the final round, it was a double-breakout finish, with the win going to Eberly by just .006!  Lori Winberg was the number one qualifier with a perfect .000, earning her a perfect light t-shirt and two decals courtesy of Northwest Wholesale/Hilton Racing, the suppliers of Goodyear, Hoosier, and Mickey Thompson Race Tires.

In the World of Speed Fall Jr Lightning class, Chloe Hoffmann and Jake Meithof again lined up in the final round, with the win light turning off for Hoffmann, who ran a 7.925 on her 7.92 to get the win, despite not having the reaction time advantage.  Conner Rice and Cole Rose were the semi-final finishers.  In the Jr Thunder class, it was Rilynn Saucy defeating Ryan Dick, Jayden Bigsby, a single, and 2015 Jr Thunder Champ Dylan Hough to win not only the race, but the championship in the Jr Thunder class.  Nicholas Karr was the number one qualifier.

The Run Tuff class is one for racers who have the misfortune of losing in the first round of competition.  Ted Hill earned his first win against Lee Ennis in the finals when Hill’s Mustang ran an 11.342 on his 11.25 dial to take the win over a red-lighting Ennis.  Steve Benghiat was the lone semi-finalist.  Meanwhile, in Jr Tuff, Conner Rice turned on the win light against Ryan Bese via a slight breakout by Bese, who ran an 8.869 on his 8.90 dial.  Rice, meanwhile, ran a stellar 7.929 on his 7.92 dial to take home a win at the last race of 2015. Cody Steen was the lone semi-finalist.


Comments are closed.