Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Sweo, Sorensen, Herinckx and Meithof Gain Wins & Prizes

A hot July day came to a conclusion with victories claimed in the first Fall ET Series race, and also in Jr Dragster.  Through the heat waves we saw victories for Ken Sweo (Electronics), Joe Sorensen (Transbrake), Tracy Herinckx (Foot Brake), and Jake Meithof (Jr Dragster).  In addition to the treasures, each winner also received a Buy One Get One Free gift certificate, courtesy of Northwest Wholesale/Hilton Racing, the suppliers of Goodyear/Hoosier/Mickey Thompson.

 The Electronics category featured Ken Sweo and Guy Mitchell racing off against each other.  Sweo, in his second final of the weekend, earned a win here when Mitchell was red off the tree by only -.019. Justin Budd was the lone semi-finalist, and also the number one qualifier with a .005.

For the Transbrake category, it was Joe Sorensen and Brian Jennen in the final round of eliminations.  Sorensen, the number one qualifier, defeated David Hanson and Dan Goates to reach the finals. Meanwhile, number two qualifier Jennen downed Rick Sales Sr and Tony Price.  In the money round, both drivers left with red light starts! However, since Jennen left first, it was his loss with a -.005 red light start.

Foot Brake competition had a final round between Tracy Herinckx and Shawn Choruby.  Herinckx, from Vernonia OR., eliminated Bill Barron and Jerry Weber to earn the semi-final round single.  On the opposite side of the ladder, Choruby eliminated Matt Webster, Robert Glafka, and Joe Ernst.  With green lights off the starting line, the advantage went to Herinckx and so did the win, running a 13.083 on his 13.08 dial to secure victory.  Jerry Weber was the number one qualifier with a .026 reaction time.

In the Jr Dragster category, Jake ‘The Snake’ Meithof claimed another impressive win to add to his trophy case when he defeated Nicholas Karr in the finals.  Meithof, who did not have the reaction time advantage (.107 to a .092) managed to run a 7.992 on his 7.97 dial, earning the narrow victory over Karr.  Ramon Vincent and Ryan Bese were the lone semi-finalist.

W: Ken Sweo, Oregon City OR (’72 Capri) [.026] 9.207, 146.15 (9.18 dial).
R/U: Guy Mitchell, Milwaukie OR (’63 Nova) [-.019] 10.248, 130.58 (10.21 dial).
Semi’s: Justin Budd, The Dalles OR.

W: Joe Sorensen, Woodburn OR (’69 Camaro) [-.023] 11.117, 96.11 (10.48 dial).

R/U: Brian Jennen, Spangle WA (’71 Vega) [-.005] 10.877, 124.25 (10.90 dial).
Semi’s: Dan Goates, Albany OR; Tony Price, Tualatin OR.

Foot Brake
W: Tracy Herinckx, Vernonia OR (’73 Chevy) [.092] 13.083, 104.60 (13.08 dial).

R/U: Shawn Choruby, Tigard OR (’66 Mustang) [.158] 11.303, 120.48 (11.29 dial).
Semi’s: Joe Ernst, Portland OR.

Jr Dragster
W: Jake Meithof, Lafayette OR (’12 Eickmann) [.107] 7.992, 79.32 (7.97 dial).

R/U: Nicholas Karr, Salem OR (’02 Dragster) [.092] 9.043, 70.53 (8.93 dial).
Semi’s: Ramon Vincent, Stayton OR.

Comments are closed.