Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Miller, Campbell, Hilton, Skinner, and Kalsch Claim Wins on Ford Fever Day

The 17th running of the Hillyers Mid-City/Stayton Ford Fever Classic showcased fun times, cool cars, and dynamite drag racing.  Winners amongst the four groups were Mike Miller (Super Pro), Chad Campbell (Pro), Devon Hilton (Sportsman), Troy Skinner (Stick Shift), and Mark Kalsch (Run Tuff).  Between the spectacular vehicles that were entered in the car show, amazing trinkets and parts in the swap meet, and great drag racing action, it was a tribute to how well the relationship of this event and Hillyers Mid City Ford has been. Now, with the addition of the new store in Stayton, the answer for where you need to go for the best service is obvious!


In the Super Pro category it was Mike Miller and John Nero in the finals.  Both driver’s left with green reaction time starts, advantage going to Miller.  Racing down to the finish line stripe, it was Miller who scored the victory by running a 9.139 on his 9.04 dial-in.  Gary Barr and Cliff Mansfield were the semi-final finishers, while Miller’s .008 in qualifying earned him number one qualifier rights.


Pro bracket eliminations featured the number one and number two qualifier facing off to see who would be victorious.  The number two qualifier, Chad Campbell, defeated Tim Miller, Marty Mack, Gregg Kirby, and Sonny Scheradella to reach the finals.  Opposite him was Steve Pyburn, who’s351 powered Studebaker raced past Dave Strauss, Jim Pray, and Paul Granner to earn the semi-final round single.  In the finals, the race was over before it even began as Pyburn turned on the red light by just .028 in the loss. Pyburn’s .013 earned him number one qualifier rights.


For Sportsman competition, it was a battle of Washington vs Oregon racers.  Washington’s Devon Hilton defeated Lucas Hull, Scott Cedergreen, Bryan Estrada, and Dan Stokes to reach the finals.  For Oregon’s Doug Kirby: Wendy Flett, Richard Kern, Robert Glafka, and Jimmy Heriford were the eliminated racers. In the finals, the race was again decided on a red light when Kirby left too soon off the starting line timers.  Heriford’s .040 was the number one qualified reaction time.


The Stick Shift category showcased Troy Skinner and Alex West battling off for the winner’s prizes.  Skinner earned victories over Chris Pokorny, Denny Hays, and Bill Middleton to earn the semi-final round single.  Opposite him was West, who downed Brett Pemble, Roy Davidson, Curt Garnick, and Dan Hanberg.  West left first off the starting line, but was chased down by Skinner who ran closer to his dial-in to get the victory.  Skinner made It a wire-to-wire victory as he was qualified number one with a .031.


The Tualatin Transmissions Run Tuff category is for racers who had the misfortune of losing in the first round of competition a second opportunity at racing.  The final round came down to Mark Kalsch and Gilbert Funderburg.  Kalsch defeated Rick Ropar, Kathy Figini, and Jeff Poleski to earn the semi-final round single.  Meanwhile, Funderburg eliminated Richard Wise, Wendy Flett, a competition single, and Tim Miller to reach the final round.  In that final,  Kalsch was off with a green light start that was the deciding factor when Funderburg went red.

In addition to the drag racing events, there was also a car show, hosting fascinatingly built Fords, Lincolns, and Mercurys as far as the eye could see. Listed below are the individual show award winners.

Pre 1935 – 1st – Len Shepherd – ’29 Ford “A” Tudor


1935 – 1948 – no show


1949 – 1959 – Lyle Keehner – ’57 Ford 2dr. Ranch Wagon


Mustangs ’64 – ’68 – Jim Brown – ’66 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350


Mustangs ’69 – ’73 – Kevin Bethel – ’69 Ford Mustang Mach1


Mustangs ’74 – ’93 – Mayolo Munoz – ’92 Ford Mustang


Mustangs ’94 – ’04 – Jim Smith – ’00 Ford Mustang Boss 232


Mustangs ’05 – Newer – Jake Kirksey – 2011 Ford Mustang GT


T-Birds – Dena Weise – ’57 Ford T-Bird


Cobras – Gerald Kesseiring – ’65 Factory Five Cobra (rep)


Falcon/Mavericks – Jack Peek – ’67 Ford Sport Coupe


Comets/Cougars – no show


Fairlanes/Torinos/Galaxies – John Leek – ’68 Ford Fairlane


Convertibles – Ron Babjar – ’55 Ford Sunliner


Rancheros – Richard Rogers – ’71 Ford Ranchero GT


Pick-Ups – Matt Van Hatten – ’65 Ford F-100


Rat Rods/Old School – Douglas Elkins – ’48 Ford Anglia Thames


Ford/Lincoln/Mercury Related – Ralph Nisbet – ’64 Mercury Comanchero


Best Paint – John Leek – ’68 Ford Fairlane


Best Engine – Kevin Bethel – ’69 Ford Mustang Mach 1


Best Interior – Rick Hammel – ’66 Ford Mustang


Best Stock/Restored – Wesley Crum – ’64 Ford Falcon


Ladies Choice – Gervis Terrill – ’65 Ford Fairlane


Spectators Choice – Deb Denton – 2010 Ford Roush Mustang


Hillyer’s Choice – Ron Babjar – ’55 Ford Sunliner


Best of Show – Rick Plummer – ’69 Ford Mustang


Listed now are final round results, in order of driver name, town, (vehicle year/model), [reaction time], elapsed time, miles per hour, and (dial-in).

Super Pro
W: Mike Miller, Portland OR (’71 Pinto) [.094] 9.139, 137.63 (9.04 dial).

R/U: John Nero, Eugene OR (’85 Mustang) [.400] 10.222, 131.48 (10.22 dial).
Semi’s: Gary Barr,Salem OR; Cliff Mansfield, Odell OR.

W: Chad Campbell, Meridian ID (’88 Mustang) [.060] 10.000, 132.84 (9.91 dial).

R/U: Steve Pyburn, Nampa ID (’50 Studebaker) [-.028] 9.588, 141.28 (9.52 dial).
Semi’s: Sonny Scheradella, Estacada OR.

W: Devon Hilton, Vancouver WA (’22 Ford) [.125] 13.605, 80.68 (13.47 dial).

R/U: Doug Kirby, Coos Bay OR (’70 Falcon) [-.111] 12.134, 112.03 (12.19 dial).
Semi’s: Dan Stokes, Albany OR; Jimmy Heriford, Battle Ground WA.

Stick Shift
W: Troy Skinner, Dallas OR (’67 Mustang) [.031] 12.466, 104.62 (12.14 dial).

R/U: Alex West, Bend OR (’86 Mustang) [.126] 15.025, 96.59 (14.50 dial).
Semi’s: Dan Hanberg, Aurora OR.

Run Tuff
W: Mark Kalsch, Hillsboro OR (’85 Thunderbird) [.390] 18.452, 75.81 (18.40 dial).

R/U: Gilbert Funderburg, Dallas OR (’76 Cobra) [-.407] 16.610, 72.12 (16.15 dial).
Semi’s: Tim Miller, Sweet Home OR.

Comments are closed.