Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Hilton Racing’s DRAG-n for DOLLAR$ Dishes out the Dough in Inaugural event

Hilton Racing’s Inaugural DRAG-n for DOLLAR$ race brought a variety of racers from across Division 6 and 7 to Woodburn Dragstrip to see who would take home the awards and prize money totaling over $7000. Winners claimed were Randy McCool (Super Pro), Steve Canton (Pro), Jerry Durant Jr (Sportsman), Jake Meithof (Jr Dragster), Gary Palmateer (Run Tuff), and Josh McMyne (Jr Tuff). The winner’s received cash money, sets of tires,  event banners, custom event hats (by Laura Stuart/Award Embroidery) and trophies. Hilton Racing’s DRAG-n for DOLLAR$ was geared around having a fun time and by doing so now looks forwards to making its return to next year’s schedule.

Super Pro’s final round brought Randy McCool and Julie Adams into the final round of competition. Both drivers launched with green reaction times as Randy got the nudge by about .01. At the finish line stripe, McCool ran a 9.916 on the 9.90 dial-in, while Adams’ 2 off 9.601 on the 9.58 meant that McCool would be the Inaugural event champion, winning over $1000 in cash and a complimentary set of rear tires courtesy of Mickey Thompson. McCool’s .001 reaction time meant he was also the number one qualifier.

In the Pro bracket, the final round matchup was between Steve Canton and Tony Littleton. Both of these drivers endured a hard fought five rounds of competition to see who would seek out the grand prize victory. Canton left first with a .045 reaction time to Littleton’s .099, and through a double-breakout situation it was Canton by .014 getting the win, meaning he would be the recipient of $950 in cash as well as a free set of rear Mickey Thompson racing tires. Gregg Heriford’s .005 earned him the number one qualifier rights.

Sportsman’s final round was a battle of the pickups as Jerry Durant Jr lined up alongside Leon Williams. Williams’ ’94 GMC left the starting line with a stellar .001 reaction time, but couldn’t run the number as Jerry Durant Jr earned the win with a .034 reaction time and running a 13.957 on the 13.93. With Durant Jr’s win came $750 in cash, as well as a pair of Mickey Thompson racing tires for his racing machine. Justin Caldwell’s .010 reaction time earned number one qualifier efforts.

In the Jr Dragster category, eliminations were split into the three standard categories of Jr Storm, Jr Thunder, and Jr Lightning before being combined into the one money category. Rilynn Saucy and Nathan Greene both earned victories in their respective classes of Jr Storm and Jr Thunder, and were then combined with the remaining Jr Lightning racers to create a quarterfinal matchup among the best of the best. In the final round it was Jacob Meithof and Austin Varner facing off, with Meithof getting the reaction time advantage and never looking back, cruising to a 7.915 on the 7.90 dial-in. For Meithof’s victory, he was awarded a cool $300 cash, as well as a pair of rear racing tires for his Jr Dragster, courtesy of Mickey Thompson.

The Run Tuff category is one held for racers who have the misfortune of losing in the first round of eliminations. Those racers pay a re-entry fee, and get into a ‘Second Change’ category. In the final round, Gary Palmateer and Bart Sowa faced off to see who would be the winner. What was set up to be an exciting final ended early when Sowa turned on the red light by just .006. Palmateer was awarded over $300 in cash, as well as a Buy One Get One Free tire certificate, courtesy of Goodyear Drag Race Tires. A Buy One Get One Free tire certificate was also awarded to Sowa (farthest Sportsman racer) and Ken Sweo (farthest Pro racer) for their efforts in the second chance race. In Jr Tuff, it was Josh McMyne getting the win light and the money after Yeshua Wilcox turned on the red light bulb by -.017. Jerold Mix and Lorenzo Gonzalez were the semi-finalist in the category.

Listed are final round results, in order of driver’s name, hometown, (vehicle year and model), [reaction time],

Super Pro
W: Randy McCool, Sublimity OR (’37 Ford) [.013] 9.916, 143.72 (9.90 dial).
R/U: Julie Adams, Molalla OR (’75 Vega) [.024] 9.601, 142.94 (9.58 dial).
Semi’s: Chris Helvey, Milwaukie OR; Dave Sattem, Camas WA.
Quarterfinals: Earl Griffith, Mulino OR; Dennis Weddle, Salem OR; Michael Boyd, Aloha OR; Gary Wargnier, Keizer Or.

W: Steve Canton, Boring OR (’63 Corvair) [.045] 10.621, 121.60 (10.63 dial).
R/U: Tony Littleton, Salem OR (’68 Chevelle) [.099] 11.379, 117.37 (11.40 dial).
Semi’s: Jeff Staley, Vancouver WA; Troy Hageman, Blodgett OR.
Quarterfinals: Mike Hansen, Aurora OR; Dave Nassimbene, Lafayette OR; Steve Stuart, Estacada OR.

W: Jerry Durant Jr, Oregon City OR (’05 Dodge) [.034] 13.957, 93.18 (13.93 dial).
R/U: Leon Williams, North Bend OR (’94 GMC Pickup) [.001] 12.558, 106.85 (12.46 dial).
Semi’s: Gordon Cady Jr, Vancouver WA.
Quarterfinals: Robert Schaefer, Hillsboro OR; George Churilla, Oregon City OR.

Jr Dragster
W: Jacob Meithof, Lafayette OR (’12 Eickmann) [.089] 7.915, 79.97 (7.90 dial).
R/U: Austin Varner, Astoria OR (’06 Akton) [.128] 7.910, 81.74 (7.90 dial).
Semi’s: Katie Day, Estacada OR.

Jr Thunder
W: Nathan Greene, Rochester WA [.149] 8.919, 73.88 (8.90 dial).
R/U: Ian Theofelis, Port Orchard WA [-.005] 8.889, 71.30 (8.90 dial).
Semi’s: Dylan Hough, Junction City OR; Adam Robinson, Vancouver WA.
Quarterfinals: Alisha Miller, Warren OR; Tommy Tallan, Molalla OR; Conner Rice, Milwaukie OR; Caitlyn Pliska, Happy Valley OR.

Jr Storm
W: Rilynn Saucy, Beavercreek OR (’99 Motivational) [.217] 11.277, 54.18 (11.20 dial).
R/U: Ramon Vincent, Stayton OR (’06 Akron) [.088] 12.110, 51.81 (12.14 dial).
Semi’s: Nicholas Karr, Salem OR.
Quarterfinals: Ryan Bese, Keizer OR; Lorenzo Gonzalez, Portland OR; Hailey Bellikka, Milwaukie OR; Jayden Marshall, McMinnville OR.

Run Tuff
W: Gary Palmateer, Monmouth OR (’69 Firebird) [.008] 10.894, 129.47 (10.90 dial).
R/U: Bart Sowa, Portland OR (’72 Chevy) [-.006] foul.
Semi’s: Ken Sweo, Oregon City OR; Mark Pracht, Beaverton OR.
Quarterfinals: Jerry Durant III, Molalla OR; Steve Rockwood, Prineville OR; Dean Tabert, Tigard OR.

Jr Tuff
W: Josh McMyne, Salem OR – 8.199, 79.40 (8.05 dial).
R/U: Yeshua Wilcox, Bonney Lake WA (’10 Half Scale) [-.017] 7.957, 81.26 (7.92 dial).
Semi’s: Jerold Mix, Aumsville OR; Lorenzo Gonzalez, Portland OR.
Quarterfinals: Dustin Day, Estacada OR; Anthony Friesen, Sutherlin OR; Jayden Marshall, McMinnville OR.

Comments are closed.