Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Gregg Heriford; Street Machine I Champion

Street Machine I competition, for vehicles 1960-75 running 11.99 and quicker, featured 35 different vehicles battling it out to be number one at the opening event. On one half of the ladder, Dom Andreotti took down Randy Doan, Dave Bronec, Jeff Taylor, and Dave Barcelon before a semi-finals single pass. On the other half of the ladder, Gregg Heriford went through Brian Horn, Ryan Anderson, Jim Goodman, a single, and George Burns Sr to make his way to the final. In that final, Andreotti used a near .03 starting line advantage to win the day’s competition, and start off the season right with a win.

On May 4th, the champion from a year ago, Gregg Heriford, and the three-time and defending Sunoco Race Fuels Pro bracket champion Nicholas Shepherd battled it out in the final. Heriford defeated Jerry Cooksey, Steve Stuart, Tony Littleton, and number one qualifier Todd McMillan to earn the single in the semi-final round. On the other side of the ladder, Shepherd, your number two qualifier, beat Michael Pliska, Dan Stokes, a single, Rich Potter and Jeff Sievers to reach the final round. The final had one of the better races of the day, as Heriford and Shepherd were separated by a mere thirteen thousandths of a second on the starting line, before Shepherd raced to the finish line and broke out by sixteen thousandths of a second trying to stay in front. At this time, points were as follows: Gregg Heriford in front with 180 by virtue of a win and runner-up finish, Dom Andreotti in second with 140 points, and Nicholas Shepherd sitting third with 110.

The final round of the June 23rd Oldies But Goodies (rescheduled for Saturday of the Hot Rod Nationals due to rain) featured Ron Parks and Gregg Heriford facing off. Parks made it into the final by defeating Jerry Cooksey, Ryan Anderson, Tim Miller, and Todd Weiglenda before earning the single. Opposite him was Heriford, participating in his third straight final round, who downed “Dynamite’ Dave Bronec, Dave Klug, Barry Sheasgreen, Dom Andreotti, and Allen Bayless. In the final round, Parks’ ’65 Coronet downed Heriford after cutting a stellar .017 reaction time to get the win.

Heading into the July 6th event, racers in Street Machine I were looking for a way to keep Gregg Heriford from running away with the field, after three straight final round appearances and an astounding 60 points lead. In the final round of this event, the racers were both consistent late round finishers in the Pro bracket category: Nicholas Shepherd and Ryan Schaefer…not to mention best friends! Shepherd’s ‘62 Chevy was off the starting line first with a .015, as he used that to win the race on a double-breakout finish. Steve Stuart was the number one qualifier with a perfect reaction time, which earned him a T-shirt and two decals courtesy of Northwest Wholesale/Hilton Racing, the suppliers of Goodyear and Hoosier Race Tires. Without the advanced knowledge of the final points race being rained out, racers were unaware that the next race at the Hot Rod Nationals would be the last of the season, with the top three in points panning out as follows: Heriford with 310—a commanding lead, Dom Andreotti with 240, and Nicholas Shepherd with 200.

In the Street Machine I category, racers converged to test their talents, as a number of the regular Sunoco Series competitors also raced off. In the final, the winner would be either Tony Littleton or ‘Right Lane’ Robert Rhines. Littleton secured his position in the final round by defeating Bill Evert, Jeff Marchi, Jeff Sievers, Dennis Schneider, and Gregg Heriford. On the other side of the ladder was Rhines, who downed Sonny Sheradella, Todd McMillan, and Rich Potter before earning the single. As the lights came down in the final round, the race ended before it even began when Rhines turned one the red light by just .006, meaning that Littleton earned his first career Woodburn Wally. McMillan was the number one qualifier with a .011. And with Heriford’s semi-final appearance, the season championship was locked up, and Heriford earned his second Woodburn Championship in the Street Machine I category.

Following are the top three point’s earners, in order of position, name, points, and round wins.
1. Gregg Heriford, 380 Points, 22 Round Wins
2. Dom Andreotti, 280 Points, 12 Round Wins
3. Todd McMillan, 230 Points, 8 Round Wins

Comments are closed.