Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Archives for the ‘2013 Race Results’ Category

Lori Weber earns Janet Lang Memorial Gracious Lady Award, Woodburn earns Be a Winner, Be a Member title at 2014 NHRA Division 6 Banquet.

It was a special moment at the NHRA Division 6 Awards Banquet when Lori Weber was awarded with the Janet Lang Memorial Gracious Lady Award.  The award, which is given to ladies of the sport who best display comradery and friendship across the Northwest, is voted on by fellow racers and crew in the Northwest […]

Hoppy Hopkins; Sport Compact Sportsman Champion

The Sport Compact Sportsman category is one reserved for 4 Cylinder domestic or 4/6 cylinder foreign body vehicles.  After finishing second last year in Sport Compact Pro’s final points standings, Bud Kuhns was wanting to improve one position in the SC-Sm class. At the first event, he had to hope his racing machine would be […]

Gary Palmateer; Top Gas Champion

Top Gas is a class for vehicles 1975 and older in which Electronics such as delay boxes and automated shifters are featured.  Bill King and Gary Palmateer were the two racers who made the first final round, providing an excellent start to the 2013 season.  King had to go through Mike Boyd, Ronald Weise, and […]

Paul Comeau; Hot Rod I Champion

Hot Rod I (vehicles 1959 and older, 11.99 and quicker) had Paul Comeau in the final round facing Marc Pruett for the first win of the season. Comeau downed heavyweights Casey DePeel, a single, and Norman Lemley, while Pruett eanred a single in the first round of competition leading to a win over Tim McDaniel […]

Gregg Heriford; Street Machine I Champion

Street Machine I competition, for vehicles 1960-75 running 11.99 and quicker, featured 35 different vehicles battling it out to be number one at the opening event. On one half of the ladder, Dom Andreotti took down Randy Doan, Dave Bronec, Jeff Taylor, and Dave Barcelon before a semi-finals single pass. On the other half of […]

Mark Tabert; Hot Rod II Champion

The Hot Rod II category showcases vehicles aged 1959 and older, running 12.00 and slower.  Jeff Enger and Lyle Scott advanced into the final round at the 11th Annual Wave Broadband Tulip Festival.  The winners of both Saturday and Sunday’s competition would receive winner’s plaque, money, and a bouquet of tulips donated by the Wooden Shoe […]

Gordon Cady Jr; Street Machine II Champion

Street Machine II, a class for cars 1960-1975 running 12.00 seconds and slower featured a major power matchup in the final round of the first race, with last year’s number one and two in the point’s standings battling it out in the final round. Gordon Cady Jr, who took down Lucky Long, Scott Stoner, had […]

Bruce Poppino; Stick Shift Champion

The Nostalgia Hot Rod Series Stick Shift category saw Shawn Choruby and Jim Wise doing battle at the first event of the season.  Choruby took down Bob Johnson and Bruce Poppino on his way to the finals, while Wise was the winner over last year’s champion Paul Carbaugh before having a single in the semis.  […]

CJ Stoakes; Inline/Flathead Champion

Jim Johnson and CJ Stoakes were the final round competitors in the first Inline/Flathead final of the season, a class designed specifically for Inline and Flathead equipped competitors in our wildly popular Nostalgia Hot Rod Series.  Johnson went through Doug Powers and Jerry Stauffer before earning the single pass in the semi-final round.  Meanwhile, Stokes […]

John Masterman; Super Shifter Champion

The Super Shifter category is one strictly for manual-shifting monsters at Woodburn Dragstrip.  In the short history of the series, the one name that has rang dominant is that of John Masterman, who over the last two years posted a total of 34 round wins, and five event wins out of eight final round appearances.  […]