Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Overflow Crowd, Terrific Racing, and Picture Perfect Weather Makes For An Unbelievable Night of Fire

Saturday Night of the Baxter Auto Parts/Sunbelt Rentals/Bi-Mart sponsored Night of Fire was impossible to describe in one word.  Thrilling, stimulating, and magnificent come to mind, as Jets cars turned darkness into light, BB/Funny Cars glued fans to their seats, and exhibition passes from Garry Fauble, Joey Severance and Jeff Ashwell in their Top Alcohol Dragsters, Steve Dorn & Dana Meeks in their Top Fuel Harleys, and Mr. Explosive Mark Sanders’ and Tim Boychuck in Twig Ziegler’s Nitro Funny Cars forced them to stand on their feet.  The finals in BB/Funny Car had Kim Parker taking a starting line advantage and scoring the win over Scott Sager.  Parker’s winning time was a 6.72 at 204.96 mph as Sager slowed to a 6.78 at 181.26 mph.  And no one can forget about the amazing show the Candy Man Ed Jones put on with his Wheelstanding Jelly Belly Fire Truck.  Darin Bay’s Jet Dragsters left the crowd wanting more as the Jet Dragsters sped to nearly 300 mph in the quarter-mile with a fire show that would put the call out to any firehouse in the country.  Day 2 of the K & N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown was run, as well as the K&N Filters Ultimate Gambler for Electronic and Non-Electronic competitors.  Winners were crowned:  Julie Adams (Electronics), Andy Morris (Ultimate Electronics), Jeremy Sears (Non-Electronics), Zach Craig (Ultimate Non-Electronics).  With feature vehicles all concluded except for the electrifying Extreme 10.5 Outlaw cars, Sunday was scheduled for heart-stopping racing action.


Part duex of the K&N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown showcased a slew of .00* reaction times and drivers who were running on their numbers made even the casual racing fan’s eyes wide with excitement.  Unfortunately, due to circumstances that were out of anyone’s control, there were significant delays in racing action throughout the day.  Because of these delays, the two K&N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown races were pushed into Sunday.  After a while, an idea was made to split the money amongst the remaining racers semi’s in Electronics and Quarterfinals in Non-Electronics) and award the ‘Win’ to the competitor who raced the farthest in Sunday’s racing.  With that, Julie Adams and Jeremy Sears were the drivers who raced into the Winner’s Circle.  The same decision was made with the Non-Electronics Ultimate Gamblers, with over three rounds of racing left to be decided upon, Zach Craig was given the winning trophy when he went the furthest in Sunday’s eliminations.


In the Electronics Ultimate Gamblers, 42 cars signed up for a grand payout of $4200 to the winner.  Andy Morris was able to pound his way into the final round by taking out Julie Adams, Danny Wargnier, Ron Pappel, and Tom Avgerakis before earning a single.  On the other side of the ladder, Kurt Gross was able to make it into the money round by taking out Shane Molinari, Scott Wear, Charlie Dietrich, Dan Lafferty and Shane Thompson.  In that final round, Morris used a starting line advantage of over .02 to get the victory at the finish despite Gross running right on his number.  Thompson was the number one qualifier with a .001 reaction time.

Comments are closed.