Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

It Was A Bug Invasion At The NW VW Bug Run

Volkswagens were a plenty at the 28th Annual Northwest VW Bug Run. Individual winners were Ron Dubey (Pro), Mike Canon (Sportsman), and Bernd Arndt (Run Tuff). In addition to these classes the wildly popular burnout contest was held featuring six contestants, with Laura Horton claiming top honors and youngster Jeremy earning second. We would like to say a special thank you to the Rose City Volksters as well as all of the other spectacular clubs that were on hand, as they were vital in making the event as fun and free spirited as it was, for all to enjoy. It was a great day of racing, show & shine, swap meet and overall fun. If you are a Volkswagen lover this is a must attend event.
In Volkswagen Pro, drivers fought through five brutal rounds of racing action to make it into the final round. For Dubay, earlier victims were Don ‘The Repoman’ Fritsche, John Davidson, and Mark Hunt, before receiving the single in the semis. For the other final round contestant, James Schuchard, the road to the final took him through contestants Bret Matney, Bernd Arndt, Brad Roberts, and Ricky Elverud. In the final round, Dubay found himself lucky when Schuchard encountered mechanical problems and was unable to finish, handing the victory to Ron Dubay. A special congratulation should go out to Mark Hunt, who in the first round of eliminations had a perfect reaction time, and earned himself a Perfect Light Club membership as well as a T-shirt and two decals, courtesy of Northwest Wholesale/Hilton Racing suppliers of Goodyear and Hoosier Race Tires. Hunt went three rounds before losing to eventual winner Dubay.
Volkswagen Sportsman featured twenty four drivers battling it out for honors. Finalist Mike Bakers’ march into the final took him through Thomas Major, Bob Vancil, and Dave Bench before earning the semi-final round single. For Mike Canon, his competitors were that of Daniel Dees, Andy Nelson, Nic Sands, and Brett ‘The Red Baron’ Schroeder. In the final round, Baker gained over two tenths of a second advantage on the starting line but was unable to get his ’64 Beetle to run the number, and as a result received the loss. With that, Canon was able to take his ’72 Beetle into the Quality Concrete/Salem Concrete Paving Winner’s Circle.
In the Run Tuff category, featuring drivers who were losers in round one and two, Bernd Arndt and Kali Wooldridge found themselves in the final round. For Arndt, making it into the final was through Jim Barnett, Ryan Cornelison, and Laura Horton. For Wooldridge; Kelli Christensen, Tyler Tovar, and Jerry Caddell were the drivers defeated to make it into the final. In the final round Bernd Arndt had a significant reaction time advantage and earned the victory after Wooldridge broke out at the finish line.
Of special note was the Injected on Nitro Front Engine Dragster of Steve Phillips, who was making test passes throughout the day. The super light, aggressively tuned dragster made three passes in total, with each pass going right down the middle of the track and having a quickest time of 7.499 at 175.71mph, impressing spectators and racers alike.
Listed are final round results, in order of driver name, home town, (vehicle type), [reaction time], elapsed time, miles per hour, and (dial-in).
Volkswagen Pro
W: Ron Dubay, Oregon City OR (’62 Baja) [.111] 15.566, 77.70 (13.19 dial).
R/U: James Schuchard, Port Orchard WA (’60 Beetle) – broke.
Semi’s: Ricky Elverud, Aloha OR.

Volkswagen Sportsman
W: Mike Canon, Salem OR (’72 Beetle) [.265] 10.901, 79.92 (14.60 dial).
R/U: Mike Baker, Springfield OR (’64 Beetle) [.050] 18.006, 77.72 (16.50 dial).
Semi’s: Brett Schroeder, Milwaukie OR.

VW Run Tuff
W: Bernd Arndt, Tigard OR (’93 Corrado) [.102] 11.968, 116.89 (11.81 dial).
R/U: Kali Wooldridge, La Center WA (’66 Bus) [.446] 21.764, 60.69 (21.99 dial).
Semi’s: Laura Horton, Camas WA; Jerry Caddell, Puyallup WA.

Comments are closed.