Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

First On Race Day To Miller, Bensching, Glafka, West, and Kirby

The 16th running of the Hillyer’s Mid City Ford Fever Classic proved to be one of the most exciting with great racing action going on all day long.  Along with the racing came representation from the car show awards, as well as a generous swap meet consisting of a wide assortment of new and classic Ford parts.  At the end of the day, winners were crowned in the names of Mike Miller (Super Pro), Jim Bensching (Pro), Robert Glafka (Sportsman), Alex West (Super Shifter), and Doug Kirby (Run Tuff).  Also to, remember to sign up for the 50th Anniversary Mustang Parade/Ford Parade, happening here at Woodburn Dragstrip April 12th, 2014 at http://www.mhmf.com/mustang-50th-anniversary-parade/.

In the Super Pro category, Mike Miller and Gary Coe were the final two contestants in the category.  With these two veterans on the starting line it was sure to be a spectacle of a race, but it ended prematurely when Coe turned on the red light, ending his chance of getting the win.  Bill King and Casey Ladd were the semi-finalist, and Mike Miller was the number one qualifier with a .003 reaction time.  The Spotlighted Showdown was by far the semi-final matchup between Miller and King, where drivers launched off the starting line separated by just .02, and with King off by .01 more at the finish resulted in a margin of victory by just .0322.

Pro bracket competition featured five rounds of amazing racing action, finishing off with a Mustang vs a Comet.  The Mustang driven by Jim Bensching, defeated Rick Edwards, Jim Pray, and George Churilla before defeating Steve Whitmore with a perfect reaction time, a feat which earned him a Perfect Light Club membership as well as a t-shirt and two decals courtesy of Northwest Wholesale/Hilton Racing, the suppliers of Goodyear and Hoosier Race Tires.  On the other side of the ladder was the Comet driven by Todd Hill, who defeated Jon Walberg, Ken Sweo, Gregg Kirby, and Pat Figini.  In the final round, Bensching erupted with another stellar reaction time, a .015 on this occasion, to get the win over a slowing Hill.  Pat Figini was the number one qualifier with a .003 reaction time.  The Spotlighted Showdown of the day was the semi-final battle between #4 and # qualifier Bensching and Whitmore, with Benschings .075 package squeaking by Whitmore’s .077!

The Sportsman category’s eliminations consisted of great racing and exhilarating moments.  In the final round were two vetersans: number three qualifier Robert Glafka and number six Earl Pellett.  Glafka’s road to the final was through Jim Triesch, Richard Kern, Trent Johnston, and Lucas Hull.  Opposite him was Pellett, who defeated Jesse Robinson, Danny Olsen, Phil Corra and Steve Watkins.  In the final round, Pellet had the starting line advantage but ran too far off his number to secure the win, meaning that Glafka claimed another Ford Fever Classic trophy to add to his mantle.  Hull’s .016 reaction time earned him the number one qualifying position.  The Spotlighted Showdown was between Johnston and Wendy Flett, who in the first round launched with almost identical reaction times, and on the double breakout gave the win to Johnston by just .033.

In the Super Shifter category, the battle to reach the Quality Concrete/Salem Concrete Paving Winner’s Circle was as intense as ever.  The final round came down to a pair of Mustangs, owned by Alex West and Steve Caruth.  West’s journey to the final was through Chris Pokorny, Bob Johnson, and Alan Morrill before earning a single in the semi’s.  On the other side of the ladder, Caruth went through racers Jason Hall, Mark Casrrick, a single and Pat Armstrong.  In the final, the race was over before it even began when number one qualifier Caruth turned on the dreaded red light bulb by .016.

The Run Tuff category is one that allows racers who have the misfortune of losing in the first round a second chance at racing for the day.  After four grueling rounds, Doug Kirby and Cliff Mansfield faced off in the finals.  After reaction times separated by just .01, a double breakout was the fate, and the win going to Kirby, as he broke out by only one thousandth of a second. Dave Turner was the lone semi-finalist.

Listed are final round results, in order of driver name, city/state, (vehicle year and model), [reaction time], elapsed time, miles per hour, and (dial-in).

Super Pro W: Mike Miller, Portland OR (’71 Pinto) [.015] 9.108, 148.95 (9.12 dial). R/U: Gary Coe, Portland OR (’67 Mustang) – foul. Semi’s: Bill King, Sandy OR; Casey Ladd, Welches OR.

Pro W: Jim Bensching, Chehalis WA (’90 Mustang) [.015] 10.825, 111.02 (10.61 dial). R/U: Todd Hill, Newberg OR (’64 Comet) [.335] 11.329, 120.69 (10.90 dial). Semi’s: Pat Figini, Oregon City OR; Steve Whitmore, Dixon CA.

Sportsman W: Robert Glafka, Battle Ground WA (’70 Torino) [.097] 12.047, 101.21 (12.01 dial). R/U: Earl Pellett, Turner OR (’64 Falcon) [.049] 12.712, 103.57 (12.55 dial). Semi’s: Steve Watkins, Chandler AZ; Lucas Hull, Middleton ID.

Super Shifter W: Alex West, Bend OR (’86 Mustang) [.424] 14.837, 95.13 (14.40 dial). R/U: Steve Caruth, Keizer OR (’92 Mustang) [-.016] 14.352, 94.43 (13.71 dial). Semi’s: Pat Armstrong, Beaverton OR.

Run Tuff W: Doug Kirby, Coos Bay OR (’70 Falcon) [.040] 12.079, 108.12 (12.08 dial). R/U: Cliff Mansfield, Odell OR (’64 Ford PU) [.050] 9.415, 137.38 (9.45 dial). Semi’s: Dave Turner, Salem OR.

Comments are closed.