Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Final Day of the K & N Filters ET Bracket Challenge Is In The Books

The K & N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown entered its final day Sunday the 28th of July as the Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series, Napa Auto Parts Jr Drag Racing Series, and Dragster/Roadster all ran points earning events, as well as the conclusion of the Extreme 10.5 Outlaw class.  Spectators and racers alike were also wowed by exhibition passes by Joey Severance, who on his third pass ran a 5.38 at over 257mph.  Roll call of winners consists of Ken Sihota (Extreme 10.5), Tom Malicki (Electronics), Zach Craig (Non-Electronics), Devon Hilton (Dragster/Roadster), Dustin Day (Jr Fast), Josh McMyne (Jr Lightning), and Alisha Miller (Jr Thunder).  With racing as close as ever, and points for racers dreaming to join the Woodburn Dragstrip team becoming a reality, the action on Sunday was simply do not miss.

In the Extreme 10.5 Outlaw class, competitors side-by-side passes were raising spectators to their feets in astonishment on what could be done on a tire just 10.5 wide.  The best way to set up the final round is to first talk about the semi-finals.  Eric Halverson and Norman Chang lined up in the first pair, with Halverson’s 4.47 dismissing a tire-spinning Chang.  On the other half of the ladder, Ken Sihota and Doug Sikora lined up. Sikora, the number one qualifier (4.294), was running 4.3* passes the entire day. For Sihota?  4.5’s were the norm.  On paper, the match was all Sikora’s with the performance advantage.  However, as they say, ‘we don’t race ‘em on paper!’…and it’s a good thing!  By an extreme case of tuning genius, Ken Sihota, the number five qualifier, out-reacted (.064 to a .135) and out ran the number one qualifier with a blistering 4.358 at 171.10mph, to take the ’00 Firebird into the final round.  In the final, Sihota ran even quicker with a 4.357 at 169 miles per hour to take out Eric Halverson, and send the former into the Quality Concrete Winner’s Circle.  Despite being out in performance by almost two tenths, Sihota and his crew fought hard and were able to put something together and obtain victory over a field that he was highly under qualified in.

The later rounds of the K&N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown Electronics category, in which Super Pro points were being awarded, featured Dragsters as far as the eye could see.  To make it into the final round, Tom Malicki faced off with and defeated Meghan Molinari, Dave Sattem, Mark Kidd, a single, Kurt Gross, Mark Campbell and Bobby Rice.  For final round opponent John Chitwood, defeated opponents were Ralph Cramblit, Katie Nelson-Harkema, Scott Wear, Devon Hilton, and Paul Nero before earning the semi-final round bye.  In the final round, both competitors ran right on their dial-ins, but for the second time this weekend the racer who was farther off got the win because of the reaction time advantage.  Bobby Rice was the number one qualifier with a .009.

The Non-Electronics category, doubling as a points earning event for the Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series Sportsman and Pro Bracket racers, showed off some of the best bottom-bulb racers in the entire Northwest.  The final round battled Washington Vs Oregon.  The Washington racer, Zach Craig, downed Scott Lang, Paul Comeau, a single, Jerry Jackson, Steve Stuart, Jerry Durant Jr, and Mike Hansen to make it into the final.  On the other side, perennial points chase Hollis Runge went through Tony Price, Ryan Anderson, Kevin Feeny, Dave Nassimbene, David Chun Jr, David Harter, and Ron Sears to make it into the final round.  In the final round, the race was over before it even began when Runge turned on the red light start.  Craig was also your Non-Electronics Ultimate Gambler Winner, resulting in a big pay weekend for him.

In the Dragster/Roadster category, the final round was a battle between a pair of 406 Chevrolet small blocks.  On one side, Devon Hilton, who took down Steve Marcus, a single, and number two in points Gary Hogansen.  On the other side of the ladder, Christina Presser defeated John Hawath and Jeff Lewis before earning a single.  In the final round, both drivers had great reaction times for the .4 Pro tree, but Hilton came off with a supersonic .012 reaction time start to get the win on a double breakout at the top end of the racetrack.  This makes win number 4 for Hilton this year, taking the Dragster/Roadster class by storm.

The NAPA Auto Parts Jr Drag Racing Series has just one more point’s race following this weekend’s action, and with none of the top spots locked up it promises to be an exciting one.   In the Jr Fast class, incoming points leader Dustin Day made it into the final round by defeating Carson Wheeler, Cheyanne Helvey and number 2 in points Kacee Pitts.  For Taylor Toftemark: Shelby Meikle, a single and Hayley Jackson were the downed racers.  In the final round, Day enjoyed a starting line advantage of .02 and running closer to his number to take the win.  Tyler Dietrich was the number one qualifier with a .001.

For the NAPA Auto Parts Jr Lightning category, incoming points leader and ‘class bully’ Austin Varner was into another final round, this time by defeating Cole Rose and Anthony Friesen.  On the other side of the ladder, Josh McMyne made it into the final by showcasing his driving talents to Clay Saches and Katie Day.  In the final round, McMyne used a massive starting line advantage of almost .1 to get the win, despite Varner running closer to his dial-in.  Rose was the number one qualifier with a .040.


In the NAPA Auto Parts Jr Thunder category, Alisha Miller and Nicholas Karr lined up in the final round to duke it out for the event championship.  Miller’s journey into the final round was through racers Dylan Hough, Caitlyn Pliska, and Conner Rice.  For Karr, the trip was through Rilynn Saucy, and Zachary Stinger before earning the single.  In the final round, for aaaaall the marbles, both racers had almost identical reaction times before Karr’s vehicle slowed at the top end, giving the win to Miller.  Karr was the number one qualifier with a .027.


Listed are final round results for all categories, in order of driver name, city/state, (vehicle year and model), [reaction time], elapsed time, miles per hour, and (dial-in).

Xtreme 10.5 Outlaw
W: Ken Sihota, Langley BC (’00 Firebird) [.079] 4.357, 169.84.
R/U: Eric Halverson, Centralia WA (’70 Camaro) [.062] 4.560, 166.66.
Semi’s: Norman Chang, Atherton CA; Doug Sikora, Apple Valley CA.

K&N Filters Electronics
W: Tom Malicki, Brush Praire, WA (’09 Mullis) [.023] 7.284, 177.13 (7.28 dial).
R/U: John Chitwood, St Helens WA (’01 Sarmento) [.053] 6.980, 190.23 (6.98 dial).
Semi’s: Bobby Rice, Spokane WA.

K&N Filters Non-Electronics
W: Zach Craig, Olympia WA (’92 Achieva) [.019] 11.431, 83.10 (9.86 dial).
R/U: Hollis Runge, Dallas OR (’74 Nova) [-.045] foul.
Semi’s: Ron Sears, Port Orchard WA; Mike Hansen, Aurora OR.

W: Devon Hilton, Vancouver WA (’64 FED ) [.012] 8.527, 144.99 (8.54 dial).
R/U: Christina Presser, Salem OR (’68 FED) [.036] 9.904, 134.58 (9.94 dial).
Semi’s: Gary Hogansen, Eugene OR.

Jr Fast
W: Dustin Day, Estacada OR (’07 Dragster) [.033] 8.349, 76.62 (8.29 dial).
R/U: Taylor Toftemark, Castle Rock WA (’03 Half Scale) [.052] 8.007, 80.93 (7.93 dial).
Semi’s: Kacee Pitts, Lebanon OR; Hayley Jackson, McMinnville OR.

Jr Lightning
W: Josh McMyne, Salem OR (’09 Eickmann) [.103] 9.040, 72.77 (8.96 dial).
R/U: Austin Varner, Astoria OR (’05 Akron) [.198] 8.913, 73.21 (8.90 dial).
Semi’s: Anthony Friesen, Sutherlin OR; Katie Day, Estacada OR.

Jr Thunder
W: Alisha Miller, Warren OR (’04 Akron) [.119] 9.008, 68.01 (8.92 dial).
R/U: Nicholas Karr, Salem OR (’96 Universal) [.148] 13.590, 45.61 (13.37 dial).
Semi’s: Conner Rice, Milwaukie OR.

Comments are closed.