Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Gary Wargnier; Fall Electronic Series Champion

Scott Nuciforo and Don Paine lined up for final round battle in the first of five races in our Fall ET Racing Series Electronics category.  Nuciforo defeated tough racers in the name of Tom Avgerakis, Marty Stewart, Devon Hilton, and Gary Wargnier.  On the other side of the ladder, Paine plowed through Traci DePeel, a single, Michael Boyd, and Fred Nicholas.  In the final round, the race was over before it even began after Paine turned on the dreaded red light by .001, meaning Nuciforo would start the series off with the points lead.  Traci DePeel was the number one qualifier with a perfect reaction time.

In the next point’s race, Dave Sattem reached yet another final round appearance, here against Dennis Weddle.  Sattem’s victims through eliminations were Vicki Shepherd and Lisa Belcher, before earning a single in the semi-final round.  On the other side of the ladder, Weddle downed Cliff Mansfield, Traci DePeel, and Chad Walberg.  In the finals, the race was over before it even began when Weddle turned on the red light by -.001…the second time in as many races for this series! The race would have been tough as Sattem unleashed a .006 overall package. Traci DePeel was again the number one qualifier. At this time, the points were as follows: Nuciforo in first with 120, Weddle in second with 100, and Wargnier  sitting third with 90 points.

The final Fall ET Series Electronics category race featured a final round between Gary Wargnier and Vicki Shepherd. Wargnier won a crucial first round showdown with incoming point’s leader Scott Nuciforo, then defeating Guy Mitchell, and second place points earner Dennis Weddle. Meanwhile, opposite him on the ladder, Shepherd dominated over Jeff Lewis and Roger Weddle before earning the single in the semi’s. In the final round, Wargnier uncorked a dominating .006 reaction time and ran an 8.587 on the 8.57 to take the win, and win the championship is stellar fashion. Dennis Weddle was the number one qualifier with a .002.

Following are the top three point’s earners, in order of position, name, points, and round wins.

1. Gary Wargnier, 170 Points, 7 Round Wins

2. Dennis Weddle, 150 Points, 6 Round Wins

3. Scott Nuciforo, 150 Points, 5 Round Wins

Comments are closed.