Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Don DePeel, Sunoco Race Fuels ET Motorcycle Champion

At the first Sunoco Race Fuels ET Motorcycle/Sled competition race, the riders in the final round were Don DePeel and Phil Lang. DePeel defeated Mark Adams while Lang eliminated Mike Graver to reach the final round. In that final, DePeel left with a starting line advantage of about .02, and never looked back running closer to his dial-in to claim the early win.

At the following event, the 40th Annual Baxter Auto Parts/Bi-Mart Season Opener, Saturday’s rain led to extremely intense racing action in all of the classes on Sunday. This time around the final was a repeat from the previous event as Phillip Lang made it to the final two by downing Randy Whiteman and Gary Tokos before earning the semi-final round bye.  For Don DePeel, the final round came about by defeating 2012 Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series Motorcycle champion Mark Adams, Maycee Blehm, and Van Smith.  In the final round, Lang had the advantage by over .02, and rode his way into the Quality Concrete/Salem Paving Winner’s Circle.


Day 1 of the Rose Festival Drags brought a Harley and a Kawasaki in the final round. The Harley, Gary Tokos, took down Mike Graver, Michael Gosselin, and Shane White. For the Kawasake, Randy Whiteman, battlers included a laddered single, Jim Werre, and Van Smith.  In the final round, the race was over when Randy Whiteman turned on the red light start, handing the victory over to Gary Tokos


Day 2 of the Rose Festival showcased one repeat finalist and one new finalist. After point’s leader Don DePeel went out in the second round, it sent a spark to Phillip Lang. Lang advanced to the final round over opponents Tyler Baker, Bob Osborne, and Cory Wayne.  Waiting for him there was Maycee Blehm, advancing from the other side of the ladder after downing Jim Werre, Jay Wayne, and yesterday’s winner Gary Tokos.  In the final, Blehm had the starting line advantage but Lang was able to run closer to his dial-in, scoring the victory. To this point, the point’s standings were as follows: Lang with 260 points, DePeel second with 230, and Tokos right behind at 200.


Saturday of the Night of Fire, Cory Wayne and Gary Tokos met in the final round of eliminations.  Wayne’ cowboy’d through Randy Whiteman, Maycee Blehm, and Jim Werre to reach the final round.  Opposite him, Tokos went through Van Smith, a single, and William Nitta to reach the trophy round.  In the finals, Wayne blasted off the starting line with a massive advantage, and used that to earn the victory after running a 9.39 on his 9.29 dial.


Sunday of the Night of Fire was all Jim Werre. After defeating Shane White, Randy Whiteman, and Cory Wayne, he faced off with William Nitta in the final round.  Nitta reached that final after downing Van Smith, Maycee Blehm, and Mark Adams in the semis. In the final round, the race was over before it started when Nitta turned on the red light start.


At the 20th running of the Nitro Motorcycle Nationals, the first day of final rounds brought together Don DePeel and Cory Wayne into the final round.  DePeel made his way into the final round after defeating Randy Whiteman, Mike Graver, and Michael Gosselin.  Wayne made it into the finals after eliminating Gary Tokos, Mark Adams, and a single in the semis.  In the final round, DePeel launched with an explosive .011 reaction time, and after running a 8.615 on his 8.60 had a package that couldn’t be beat.


On Sunday of the Nitro Motorcycle Nationals, it was a Harley invasion as Gary Tokos and John Plaster battled off in the final round.  Tokos’ journey took him through Mike Graver, Dana Herold, and Van Smith.  Opposite him was Plaster, who defeated point’s leader Don DePeel, and Randy Whiteman before earning a single pass to reach the final round.  In the final, Tokos gained over .1 advantage on the starting line and never looked back, claiming the winner’s trophy.  Heading into the final point’s event, the top three standings were as follows: Tokos with 370, DePeel with 360, and Cory Wayne sitting third with 340, and only one event to go!


August 17th.  If Gary Tokos could finish in the same round or defeat Don DePeel then the championship would be his.  As it so happens, that dream matchup occurred in the semi-final round as the two competitors lined up to face each other.  DePeel was off the starting line first before mechanical problems ended Tokos’ race early, and meaning that Don DePeel would win the championship by virtue of tie-breakers, if not outright.  After winning that round, he advanced to the final, where Van Smith was waiting for him. Smith was off first with a .027 reaction to DePeels .039.  To the finish line…one of them went, as DePeel’s encountered engine problems, meaning that Smith would drive to the winner’s circle, while DePeel would claim the season championship.


Listed are the top three point’s earners, in order of driver name, total points, and round wins.


1. Don DePeel, 410 Points, 15 Round Wins
2. Gary Tokos, 410 Points, 15 Round Wins
3. Cory Wayne, 380 Points, 12  Round Wins



Comments are closed.