Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

2013 Season Officially ends with 36th Annual Awards Dinner

A marvelous time was had by everyone in attendance at the 36th Annual Woodburn Dragstrip Awards Dinner at the Holiday Inn in Wilsonville.  Specialty awards and championship trophies were handed out, and lots of laughs and tears were experienced by all.

In racing news, Dave Sattem was honored with the Driver of the Year award, finishing second in the Sunoco Series Super Pro category as well as winning the Division 6 ET Finals Super Pro Championship.  Lori Weber was applauded as Person of the Year for her continued work of excellence for all of those who attend at Woodburn Dragstrip.  Laura Stuart and Randy McCool jointly shared the award for Pico Wiring Crew Member of the Year, for Stuart’s efforts in helping her husband win his fourth season championship, and McCool’s spectacular tuning throughout the season, highlighted with running 6-straight 9.90’s and winning that day’s event. Speaking of McCool, driver Loretta was praised with the NAPA Auto Parts Most Improved Driver award, going from seven round wins last year to an astounding 33 round wins, and season championship in Super Pro.  Randy Nichols was hailed as Employee of the Year, Marty Arrigotti won the $1000 drawing from A-1 Performance Trans and Converters, Devon Hilton and Al Lyda tied with the most Perfect Lights, sharing the award for $600 in product from NW Wholesale/Hilton Racing, the suppliers of Goodyear/Hoosier/Mickey Thompson Racing Tires.  Jerry Durant Jr was celebrated as the Kershaw Knives September/October Racer of the Month, winning the ET Finals in the Sportsman category, Foot Brake category at the Fall Classic, and runner-up at the National Dragster Challenge.

Austin Varner was awarded to the highest degree in the Jr Dragster category, earning NAPA Auto Parts Jr Dragster Driver of the Year honors. Dianne Boyce was the recipient of the Person of the Year Award, for her excellence in promoting Jr Dragsters through a Facebook page she created, as well as pictures provided for the Jr Dragster racers. Alisha Miller and Conner Rice both concluded excellent first years of running the Jr program with Rookie of the Year honors, and Trevin Walberg earned Most Improved Driver with his Jr Thunder Championship honors. Jr racers collectively voted NAPA Auto Parts as Sponsor of the Year, and Hayley Jackson, Kyler Pitts, and Ramon Vincent earned overall #1 Qualifier awards.

We wish to thank everybody for the spectacular 2013 racing season, and hope that everyone enjoys their off season. There are only 104 days until racing season starts again!!!

2013 Season Champions


Super Pro: Loretta McCool
Pro: Steve Stuart
Sportsman: Derrick Jackson
Motorcycle: Don DePeel
High School: Chelbi Hageman


Jr Fast: Dustin Day
Jr Lightning: Austin Varner
Jr Thunder: Trevin Walberg


Sport Compact Pro: William Breese
Sport Compact Sportsman: Hoppy Hopkins


Top Gas: Gary Palmateer
Hot Rod I: Paul Comeau
Street Machine I: Gregg Heriford
Hot Rod II: Mark Tabert
Street Machine II: Gordon Cady Jr
Stick Shift: Bruce Poppino
Inline/Flathead: CJ Stoakes


Dragster/Roadster: Devon Hilton
Super Shifter: John Masterman
Volkswagen: Mike Canon
Pick-Up: Jerry Durant Jr
Harley: John Plaster

Electronics: Gary Wargnier
Transbrake: Dave Bronec
Foot Brake: Jerry Durant Jr
Jr Lightning: Taylor Toftemark
Jr Thunder: Dylan Hough


Specialty Awards
Driver of the Year: Dave Sattem
Person of the Year: Lori Weber
Pico Wiring Crew Member of the Year: Laura Stuart/Randy McCool
NAPA Auto Parts Most Improved Driver: Loretta McCool
Sponsor of the Year: Sunbelt Rentals
Employee of the Year: Randy Nichols
A-1 Performance Trans and Converters Package for the Points Winner: Marty Arrigotti
NW Wholesale Perfect Light Club Most .000’s Award: Al Lyda and Devon Hilton
Kershaw Knives September/October Racer of the Month: Jerry Durant Jr


Jr Dragster Specialty Awards
Driver of the Year:
 Austin Varner
Person of the Year:
 Dianne Boyce
Rookie of the Year:
 Alisha Miller and Conner Rice
Most Improved Driver: Trevin Walberg
Sponsor of the Year:
 NAPA Auto Parts
Most #1 Qualifiers, Fast: Hayley Jackson
Most #1 Qualifiers, Lightning: Kyler Pitts
Most #1 Qualifiers, Thunder: Ramon Vincent.




Comments are closed.