Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Team Woodburn Sweeps ET Finals – Track Managers Challenge & 14th Team Championship

KENT, Wash. – The team from Woodburn Dragstrip combined for 68 points to capture the Northwest Division Summit Racing Series Team Championship at Pacific Raceways while two sets of individual champions were crowned beginning with the Race of Champions who will advance to the NHRA Summit National Championship in Pomona, Calif.

A total of 15 teams were in competition this weekend as Woodburn claimed their 14th Team Championship and was followed by Portland International Raceway and Bremerton Raceway who took second and third in the team standings with 64 and 63 points respectively.

Leading the ROC winners was Larry DeYoung of Livingston, Mont., who took the Super Pro title in his ’55 Bel Air over Portland, Ore., resident Greg Rollin in his ’67 Oldsmobile. DeYoung covered the quarter mile in 9.237 seconds at 150 mph for the win.

Robert Steffen and Derrick Jackson won in the Pro and Sportsman categories and will join De Young at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona. Steffen, Olympia, Wash., held off Mark Kidd of Twin Falls, Idaho, for the trophy with a big starting line advantage. His .012 second reaction time combined with a lap of 10.559 at 126.18 mph was enough to hold off the hard charging Kidd who clocked in at 9.189, 135.13 in his ’55 Chevy. The Mc Minnville, Ore., racer Jackson, beat Duston Wurtz, Meridan, Idaho, to the finish line in 12.851 seconds at 96.97 mph.

Jeff Havens will round out the four man team representing the Northwest in Pomona as he took out Zak Pedraza. Havens, Yakima, Wash., went 7.968 seconds at 158.06 mph on his ’95 Suzuki to Pedraza’s 9.881 at 123 mph out of Boise, Idaho.

Woodburn’s Team Championship was led by Jerry Durant Jr. who advanced to the finals in the Sportsman class for the Division Championship defeating another Woodburn racer Karl Hart. Durant of Oregon City, Ore., recorded a lap of 13.966 seconds at 86.11 mph.

Rob Asbury out of Yakima, Wash., and Scott Lang of Beaverton, Ore., grabbed Northwest Championships as well. Asbury beat Gary Ericksen of Portland, Ore., in Super Pro when Ericksen left early with a foul start and Lang put his ’76 Ford Pinto in the winner’s circle over Nicholas Shepherd of Tigard, Oregon, racing for Team Woodburn.

Jon Jenkins was victorious in the Bike/Sled class over Jack Havens as the Richmond, B.C., racer rode his ’84 Suzuki past Havens, Mill Creek, Wash., for the win in 8.727 seconds at 86 mph.

Brandon Rieken scored the double winning both the division championship and the Race of Champions in High School beating Kenny McGarry in the final of both. Rieken, Coeur d Alene, Idaho, won the ROC on Saturday then beat McGarry again for the division championship on Sunday in his ’71 Maverick.

In the division’s Jr. Drag Racing League, Ryan Widhalm, Yakima, Wash., won over Lane Cavar, Puyallup, Wash., for the Jr. Lightning title and Klyer Pitts (Team Woodburn) beat Cameron Calhoun in the Jr. Thunder class. Widhalm went 8.053 seconds, 78.26 mph to beat the quicker Cavar at 8.020, 79.36. Pitts, Lebanon, Ore., clocked in at 9.001 seconds, 71.06 mph followed by Calhoun, Covington, Wash., at 9.060, 71.95 mph.


Woodburn Dragstrip 68
Portland Int’l Raceway 64
Bremerton Raceway 63
Firebird Raceway 60
Pacific Raceways 50
Mission Raceway 40
Renegade Raceway 37
Spokane County Raceway 24
Madras Raceway 22
Walla Walla Drag Strip 22
Medicine Hat Drag Racing Assoc. 17
Coos Bay Speedway 7
Champion Raceway 7
Lost Creek Raceway 5
Lewistown Raceway 1

The following are final round results from the NHRA Northwest Division Summit Racing Series at Pacific Raceways:

Larry DeYoung, Livingston, Mont., ‘55 Bel Air, 9.237, 150.80 def.
Greg Rollin, Portland, Ore., ‘67 Olds, 11.251, 114.36

Robert Steffen, Olympia, Wash., ‘78 Nova, 10.559, 126.18 def.,
Mark Kidd, Twin Falls, Idaho, ‘55 Chevy, 9.189, 135.13

Derrick Jackson, Mc Minnville, Ore., 12.851, 96.97 def.
Duston Wurtz, Meridan, Idaho, 11.995, 109.79

Jeff Havens, Yakima, Wash., ‘95 Suzuki, 7.968, 158.06 def.
Zak Pedraza, Boise, Idaho, Ultra, 9.881, 123.00

Brandon Rieken, Coeur d Alene, Idaho, 71 Maverick, 11.569, 113.33 mph def.
Kenny McGarry, Philomath, Oregon, ‘74 Nova, 11.447, 116.97 mph

Rob Asbury, Yakima, Wash., ‘80 Camaro, 11.218 seconds, 119.01 mph def.
Gary Ericksen, Portland, Ore., ‘76 Astre, 11.222, 122.72

Scott Lang, Beaverton, Ore., ‘76 Pinto, 12.133, 104.42 def.
Nicholas Shepherd, Tigard, Ore., ‘62 Chevy II, 10.669, 116.01

Jerry Durant Jr., Oregon City, Ore., ‘05 Dodge, 13.966, 86.11 def.
Karl Hart, Woodburn, Ore, ‘84 Trans Am, 13.436, 94.61

Jon Jenkins, Richmond, B.C., ‘84 Suzuki, 8.727, 145.38 def.
Jake Havens, Mill Creek, Wash., ‘08 Hayabusa, 8.902, 144.09

Brandon Rieken, Coeur d Alene, Idaho, ‘71 Maverick, 11.569, 113.33 def.
Kenny McGarry, Philomath, Ore., ‘74 Nova, 11.447, 116.97

Ryan Widhalm, Yakima, Wash., 8.053, 78.26 def.
Lane Cavar, Puyallup, Wash., 8.020, 79.39

Kyler Pitts, Lebanon, Ore., 9.001, 71.06 def.
Cameron Calhoun, Covington, Wash., 9.060, 71.95

Comments are closed.