Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Super Pro Champion – Devon Hilton

In the Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series, Super Pro is the class that by far offers some of the toughest competition. In main part, this is due to the enhancements of delay boxes, throttle stops, and other components as well. The toughness of success is shown in the fact that no Super Pro racer has repeated their championship run the following year in over 20 years of competition. However, in 2013, Champion Devon Hilton will attempt to break that spell.

The season started off with victories by Travis Hilton (April 7), Danny Wargnier (April 15), Hilton (April 22 & 29), Mark Dawson (May 6), David Pracht (May 12), Roger Weddle (June 3), leaving the points standings as follows: Devon Hilton in first with 420 points, Dawson second with 400, and Travis Hilton in third with 380. On June 10th, Al Lyda took the victory over Devon Hilton by a mere 6 thousandths of a second, scoring his first victory of the season. On June 17th, Devon Hilton made it two finals in a row by taking down David Chun Jr. July 1st offered a change from the norm, with bad weather creating the need to shorten the race to eighth mile competition. However, our champion showed that his racing style didn’t change, as Devon Hilton went to his third straight final round, this time winning over Pracht. While three straight final rounds were impressive, adding a fourth straight final is even more, this time Hilton was beaten by Jim Glenn on July 8th. With three races remaining, the points were as follows: Devon Hilton with a commanding 750 Points, Matt Claussen with 570, and Travis Hilton in third with 560. The event on July 21st showcased Vicki Shepherd scoring her first win of the season, downing Travis Hilton in the final. The July 29th event which was held in conjunction with the Night of Fire, presented Mark Dawson’s hard charging roadster sneaking past Arron Spitzer to take the victory. At the final event of the season (August 18), Danny Wargnier pulled off a heroic victory, going from outside the Top 6, and a chance to compete in the Division Six Race of Champions for a trip to Pomona, to the number 5 spot by taking down Kurt Gross in the final round, finishing off an electrifying season in Super Pro Competition.

Listed are the final standings, in order of driver name, total points, and total round wins.
1. Devon Hilton, 830 Points, 39 Round Wins
2. Matt Claussen, 640 Points, 22 Round Wins
3. Travis Hilton, 640 Points, 22 Round Wins

Comments are closed.