Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Inline/Flathead Champion – Michael Bjerklund

2012 was a banner year for Michael Bjerklund, as the Lebanon, Oregon racer scored the track championship in the Inline/Flathead series. With four final round showings, including a win at the final event, Bjerklund held off Jim Johnson and Walt Pierce to score the championship.
To start off the series on March 21st, Jim Johnson took the win over Bjerklund. The next event on May 5th showed Walt Pearce taking the win over Doug Powers with reaction times separated by a meager two thousandths on the starting line. Dave Mueller took a big win over Jim Johnson by virtue of a large starting line advantage on June 24th. At this point, halfway through the season, Jim Johnson was in first with 170 points, Walt Pearce in second with 160, and Michael Bjerklund, your eventual champ, in third with 140. However, the next three races for Bjerklund could easily be called ‘The Streak’ as he powered his way to three straight final round appearances. The first two losses to CJ Stokes and Walt Skoczylas, before scoring his first win of the season at the best time possible over Jerry Stauffer. By taking the win at the final event, Michael completed the spectacular come-from-behind finish to become your 2012 Nostalgia Hot Rod Series Inline/Flathead Champion.
Following are the top three point’s earners, listed by driver name, total points, and total round wins.
1. Michael Bjerklund, 340 Points, 11 Round Wins
2. Jim Johnson, 300 Points, 9 Round Wins
3. Walt Pearce, 260 Points, 7 Round Wins

Comments are closed.