Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

A Perfect Day To Own A Bug!!!!

There was a bug infestation at Woodburn Dragstrip on June 2, 2012 and the result was an incredible drag race, swap meet, and car show. The 27th Annual HM Motorsports Northwest VW Bug Run presented by the Northwest Volksters provided a full day of fun non-stop action as the pits were filled with a fantastic display of German engineering. Vendors in the swap meet section were able to supply just about any VW part a person might be looking for and the crowd was absorbed in the engine blow and the burn-out contest. “A good time was had by all” would be an understatement.

Following is the final results from the drag race, listing the driver’s name, city, car, reaction time, elapsed time, miles per hour, and dial in.

W: Ryan Jones, Gresham, OR (’84 Rabbit) .130, 12.463, 116.95 (12.40 dial).
R/U: Tim Schmidt, Portland, OR (’63 Bug) – foul.
Semi’s: Jimmy Bowes, Auburn, WA; Travis Matney, Vancouver, WA

W: Thomas Major, Salem, OR (’71 Bug) .013, 16.402, 79.37 (16.30 dial).
R/U: Laura Horton, Camas, WA (’67 Bug) .531, 15.538, 83.62 (15.60 dial).
Semi’s: Mike Canon, Salem, OR

Winner: Rick “E Racer” Elverud, Aloha, OR

Below is a listing of those that took either 1st or 2nd Place in the 27th Annual HM Motorsports VW Bug Run Car Show hosted by the Rose City Volksters.

Joe Locicero Memorial Award – Norman Wirth, Portland, OR
1964/69 VW/Porsche Manx

Rose City Volkster’s Choice Award – Ron & Debbie Chandler
Spanish Fork, Utah, 1962 VW Microbus

Type 1 Split & Oval (‘46 to ‘57)
1st Place: Matt Burgard, Milwaukie, OR, 1956 Beetle
2nd Place: John & Karen Mitchell, Tigard, OR, 1955 Beetle “Okrasa”

Type 1 Early (‘58 to ‘64)
1st Place: Justin Haberman, Milwaukie, OR, 1962 Beetle
2nd Place: Danny Gogue, 1958 Beetle Ragtop

Type 1 Early (‘65 to ‘67)
1st Place: Alan Beckel, Portland, OR, 1967 Beetle
2nd Place: Rich Thallheimer, Portland, OR, 1967 Beetle

Type 1 Late (‘68 and newer)
1st Place: Bob Stanton, Vancouver, WA,1969 Beetle
2nd Place: Mike & Nancy Stark, Salem, OR 1970 Beetle

Type 1 Super Beetle (‘71 – ‘79)
1st Place: Natalie Nordlund, Tacoma, WA, 1972 Super Beetle
2nd Place: Ryan Beckman, Port Townsend, WA, 1974 Super Beetle

Type 1 Convertible Early (pre ‘70)
1st Place: Mike Crist, Portland, OR, 1964 Beetle Convertible
2nd Place: Ryan Corno, Vancouver, WA, 1967 Beetle Convertible

Type 1 Convertible Late (‘70 – ‘79)
1st Place: Bob Atkeson, Gresham, OR, 1973 Super Beetle Convertible
2nd Place: Michael Sandoz, Tigard, OR, 1979 Super Beetle Convertible

Type 2 Bus Early (pre ‘67)
1st Place: Michael Iannuzzo, Yoncalla, OR, 1960 Bus 23 Window
2nd Place: Randy Lewis, Salem, OR, 1961 Bus

Type 2 Bus Late (‘68 & later)
1st Place: Tom & Debra Caldwell, Corbett, OR, 1975 Bus Westfalia
2nd Place: Michael Shapiro, Spanaway, OR, 1974 Bus

Type 2 Single/Double Cab
1st Place: Andrew Baudino, Spanaway, WA, 1969 Single Cab
2nd Place:Angelique Pankratz, Portland, OR 1970 Double Cab

Type 3
1st Place: Jake Sandor, Lakes Oswego, 1969 Squareback
2nd Place: Keegan Crivellone, Tigard, OR, 1963 Squareback

1st Place: Marcos Apodaca, Salem, OR 1965 Ghia
2nd Place: Steve Bechard, Redmond, OR, 1967 Ghia

1st Place: Brad James, 1973 Thing
2nd Place: Conrad Muhlhauser, Albany, OR, 1973 Thing

1st Place: Todd Bly, Portland, OR, 1968 Manx
2nd Place: Rich Monize, Longview, WA, 1967 Baja

Special Interest
1st Place: Mark Hollis, Vancouver, WA, 1937 Volkster

Rat Rod
1st Place: Brian Frank, Newberg, OR, 1962 Volksrod
2nd Place: Jerald Winifrey, Tigard, OR, 1965 Volksrod

A1 1974 to 1984 and Cabrio to ’93 (ex Scirocco)
1st Place: Tyler VanRiper, Gresham, OR, 1979 Rabbit
2nd Place: Kenny Beckwith, Beaverton, OR, 1978 Rabbit/Golf

A2 1985 to 1992 (ex Corrado)
1st Place: Marty McKee, Portland, OR, 1987 Jetta Coupe
2nd Place: Colin Kopetski, Portland, OR, 1989 GTI

A3 1993 to 1999
1st Place: Josh McCormick, Camas, WA, 1998 Jetta GLX
2nd Place: Jake Maguire, Aurora, OR 1996 Jetta

A4 1999 to 2005
1st Place: Mindy McCombs, Portland, OR, 2001 Jetta,
2nd Place: Jacob Durig, Salem, OR, 2004.5 Jetta MK4

A5 2006 to Present
1st Place: Johnston, Warren, OR, 2008 R32
2nd Place: Anival Gonzalez, Vancouver, WA, 2008 R32

Scirocco & Corrado
1st Place: Paul Woodward, Cornelius, OR, 1990 Corrado
2nd Place: Andrew Bogosian, Keizer, OR, 1992 Corrado SLC

Passat & Audi
1st Place: Tony Sanchez, Aloha, OR, 1977 Audi
2nd Place: Jeremiah Hathcoat, Portland, OR, 2001 Audi S4

Special Interest
1st Place: Chris Hamilton, 1990 Vanagon

Comments are closed.