Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Roger Wolff– 2011 Sunoco Race Fuels Bike/Sled Champion

Racers compete on snowmobiles and drag bikes in the Bike/Sled Class in the Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series at Woodburn Dragstrip. Thirty racers earned points during the 2011 series, but a closer look shows that only two riders competed in every event. Roger Wolff and Eric Johns were those two racers. They waged a tight battle throughout the year and came into the final event tied for the lead. There are a number of situations throughout the season, that could have given the story a different ending. The championship was decided by 10 points. Ultimately, it would not be decided until the final event.

Joseph Lind started the year with a win over Kerry Drost. Eric Johns followed with two consecutive victories – the first over Jim Werre and the second over Roger Wolff – in events number 2 and 3. Roger Wolff earned his first victory in the 2011 series on May 1st as he defeated Joseph Lind. The weather interrupted the next two events, enabling Johns to maintain a 30-point lead over Lind and Wolff as we entered the month of June.

A snowmobile was victorious, as David Reese, Sr. rode his ’98 Ski Doo to 9.781 to 9.767 hole shot victory over Roger Wolff on June 5th. Two weeks later, the red light was Shane White’s friend as he downed Eric Johns in the finals. Eric’s light was red by a mere -.006, and because it happened in the final round, it caused a 20 point swing in the point total. Never-the-less, as June comes to an end, Johns still maintains a 16-point lead over Wolff.

Neither Wolff nor Johns were able to take advantage of the other’s miscues in the three events in July, as Wolff only picked up two round wins during this month while Johns scored one round win. July 2nd saw 2010 Track Champion, Mark Adams, defeat Jim Were, while Rick Tedder earned two consecutive victories and moved up into fifth place in the standings, downing Don DePeel on July 10th and Jack Britton on July 23rd. With one event remaining, Eric Johns and Roger Wolff are tied in the series with 414 points each.

With five racers entered in the final event, Rick Tedder received the first round single and Wolff and Johns both advanced into the semi-finals. In round two, Wolff defeated Tedder while Johns advanced on a single. In the finals, Wolff rocketed his Kawasaki to a .017 reaction time and 9.690 elapsed time to take the hole shot win over the quicker 9.418 of Johns’ Kawasaki. Johns had earlier earned the 10 points “A-1 Performance Package for the Points” bonus at the final event. The final standings show Wolff (484) and the 2006 Woodburn Track Champion, Eric Johns (474) in first and second, followed in order by Shane While, Jack Britton, Rick Tedder, Joseph Lind and Jim Werre.

Van Smith holds the Woodburn Dragstrip record for ET Motorcycle Track Championships with six. The 2011 Sunoco Race Fuels Bike/Sled ET Championship for Roger Wolff is his third in this series, having also earned this Championship in 2009 and 2008. In addition, Roger has earned the Woodburn Dragstrip Street Bike Championship four times (2009, 2008, 2007, and 2003) making him a seven time Motorcycle Track Champion. Roger Wolff, with his 7 track championships, now has more total motorcycle track championships than any other rider. Congratulations to Roger for another excellent season.

Comments are closed.