Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

John Masterman is Inaugural Super Shifter Champion

The Woodburn Dragstrip Super Shifter Series was new for 2011 and proved to be a highlight for the drivers who loved to drop the clutch and bang the gears through the complete quarter mile. The series consisted of five events from May through September. Twenty two racers competed in the series with John Masterman and his ’79 Camaro earning the series championship.

Three separate racers found the winner’s circle in each of the first three events in the series. Steve Erickson was the first event winner in 2011 as he drove his ’07 Shelby to victory over Randy Ashley’s ’62 Lancer on May 1st. John Flett (2010 High School Champion) picked up the event win with his ’96 Mustang on June 5th as Ashley was the victim of Flett’s stellar .008 reaction time in the finals. The third event, held July 2nd, was claimed by Dick Arnold and his beautiful ’67 Camaro over John Masterman. This would be the first of three final round appearances for Masterman.

Masterman was unstoppable in the final two events. August 7th saw a repeat of the finals from July. Again Masterman and Arnold faced off, but this time Masterman evened the score, taking the victory over Arnold. Ironically, at this point with only one event to follow, both Arnold and Masterman were tied with 220 points. The final event would determine the championship.

At the final event on September 10th Arnold fell in the semi-finals and Masterman took the event victory over Jim Pappel to clinch the series championship. Dick Arnold finished in second place with John Flett, Randy Ashley, Jim Pappel, and Steve Erickson in third through sixth, respectively. Congratulations to John Masterman and all who participated in this inaugural series. As interest continues to build, we look forward to a very successful 2012 Super Shifter Series.

Comments are closed.