Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Jackson Conquers All In Sportsman In 2011

Derrick Jackson’s 2011 Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series finished just like 2010, 2009, and 2008 as round-by-round, he scored his fourth consecutive Sportsman ET Championship. Driving his ’67 Dodge A100 truck in the 2011 series, Jackson came to the line 48 times in competition. He was victorious 37 of those times which computes to an amazing .770 winning percentage. Of all the racers in all classes of the Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series, no other racer came within 8 rounds of this total.

The first event of the year saw Gordon Cady, Jr. earn the victory over Stephanie Gross. Marty Arrigotti scored the win over James Tucker at event number 2. Tucker made his way to the finals again in the third event, but this time it was Robert Schaffer who earned the victory. It was at the fourth event of the year when Jackson met Dave Wilson in the finals and picked up his first victory for 2011. Following two rain-outs, Derrick would meet another Wilson in the finals. This time it would be Sherry, but the result was the same and Derrick had his second win of the season. By the end of May, Jackson held a 50-point lead over the rest of the pack.

Jerry Weber was the winner over Dave Wilson on June 5. The June 12th Rose Festival Drags had weather issues and could not be completed. Seven racers had advanced to the third round when racing was halted. Robert Glafka was the big winner the following week as he met and defeated Jerry Durant, Jr. in the finals. At the end of June, Jackson maintained his points lead with Robert Glafka, Robert Schaffer, and Dave
Wilson in pursuit.

The four events in July saw Gordon Cady, Jr. and Marty Arrigotti pick up their second event wins, while Dave Fowler earned his first event victory. Not to be outdone, Jackson excelled at the July 31st ET Bracket Triple Crown event for his third event victory and his points lead ballooned to an insurmountable 100 points over his fellow racers with only one event remaining. John Floyd, Jr. scored the victory at the final event in August and moved up in the standings. Special recognition is given to Tracy Herinckx, a racer who consistently went rounds without ever making it to the finals. His third-place finish is testimony to his racing skill as he was voted as the Most Improved Driver at the Awards Banquet held back in October. As the series was completed, finishing second through fifth respectively, were Gordon Cady, Jr., Tracy Herinckx, Dave Wilson, and John Floyd, Jr.

There are several racers who have been able to score consecutive track championships in the same class at Woodburn Dragstrip. Van Smith has 5 consecutive Motorcycle Championships while Robert Rhines has earned 7 consecutive championships in Heavy/Run Tuff. In 2011, Derrick Jackson has earned his 4th consecutive championship in Sportsman to go along with his 5 consecutive championships in Sport Compact Sportsman. Jackson earned his first Woodburn Dragstrip track championship in 1992. Since that time, a total of 18 track championships decorate his trophy case in addition to his multiple NHRA Northwest Division Championships. Congratulations to one of the best racers of all time, Derrick Jackson.

Comments are closed.