Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Dave Sattem – 2011 Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series Super Pro Champion

2011 was a very successful season for veteran Super Pro racer, Dave Sattem. The Camas, WA resident completed the series a full 100 points ahead of the second place finisher which would equal ten rounds of racing. 2006 Super Pro Track Champion Billy Taylor won two events and finished in second place. Paul Nero was the other racer who won two events.

Dennis Weddle began the year with a victory over Danny Wargnier at the first event on April 3rd. Paul Nero emerged atop the second event with his victory over Devon Hilton. John Chitwood was the big winner at the NWDRA Winter Classic as Sattem appeared in his first of two finals during the season. As April ended, Sattem held a 10 point lead over Dennis Weddle.

Weather was our chief opponent during May as two of the four events were cancelled. John Floyd, Sr. defeated two time Super Pro track champion, Mark Dawson in the finals on May 1st and Danny Wargnier appeared in his second final, taking the victory over Roger Weddle on May 22nd.

Consistent hard-running, Jeremy McGhee won the first event he attended in 2011. He was victorious over Gary Ericksen on June 5th. The following week’s event was halted after two rounds due to weather. June 19th was Dave Sattem’s day as he won the event and the bonus 10 points for the A-1 Transmissions & Converters Package for the Points to add 100 points to his total. Mark Dawson picked up his second runner-up finish at this event.

Billy Taylor followed Dave’s example of the previous week as he won the event and the 10-point bonus on July 2nd with his victory over Bill Heard. The following week Paul Nero took the measure over Roberta Van Scoyk for his second victory of the season. Matt Claussen met and defeated 2002 and 2004 Super Pro Track Champion, Julie Adams on July 23rd and Billy Taylor continued his hot streak with his second victory of the month on July 31st. Sadie Floyd was successful at the final event on August 20th with her victory over the team of Bill and Tony McNeal.

As we conclude this story, it is easy to see that the Super Pro field is filled with names of a great number of experienced and competent racers, both current and future. To be in the top of this class is, by itself, a mark of distinction. Woodburn Dragstrip congratulates John Floyd, Sr. (5th), Bill Heard (4th), Danny Wargnier (3rd), Bill Taylor (2nd) and 2011 Super Pro Track Champion, Dave Sattem.

Comments are closed.