Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Champions Crowned at Awards Ceremony

The 34th Annual Woodburn Dragstrip Awards and Brunch was celebrated at the Wilsonville Holiday Inn on Sunday, October 9 with 267 persons in attendance. Staff and employees of Woodburn Dragstrip were introduced. Jack Russell was recognized for receiving the Woodburn Dragstrip Employee of the Year Award.

Special appreciation was given to each sponsor for the 2011 season. Jim Fluge from Race Cars for Kids received the Junior Sponsor of the Year Award and Devon Hilton from Northwest Wholesale suppliers of Goodyear Racing Tires was awarded the Woodburn Dragstrip 2011 Sponsor of the Year. Devon Hilton presented the most Perfect Lights Award to David Pracht who scored 5 perfect reaction times in 2011.

Adam Bowdish, from A-1 Performance Transmissions and Converters, presented the “Package for the Points” award to the racer whose card was drawn from all eligible awardees throughout the year. Adam drew the King of Clubs which matched the card held by John Floyd, Jr. He will receive $1000 in product and/or service from A-1 Performance Transmissions and Converters.

The top five in each class of Juniors were recognized as were the champions. In Fast, Spencer David, Emily Mix, Taylor Nielson, and Jeffrey Taylor received their awards as did 2011 Fast Champion, Travis Hilton. In Lightning, Lane Howard, Taylor Toftemark, Katie Day and Dustin Day received their awards as did 2011 Lightning Champion, Grace Presser. In Thunder, Austin Varner, Anthony Friesen, Josh McMyne, and Kyler Pitts received their awards as did 2011 Thunder Champion, Justin Harmon.

Special recognition was given to the racer in each class who received the greatest number of top qualifier positions during the series. There was a tie in both Fast and Lightning which required a tie-breaker. The racer with the best average qualifying position for the series was given that honor. The awardees were: Travis Hilton (Fast), Grace Presser (Lightning), and Justin Harmon (Thunder).

Travis Hilton, Jeffrey Taylor, and Nicole Fluge, as well as Rochelle Robnett (in absentia) were “given the boot” as they have completed eligibility for Jr Dragster competition due to age. Grace Presser (along with Kiefer Eickmann, Taylor Nielson, and Merranda Molinari, in absentia) were given “kiss off” awards due to their decision to graduate from the Jr Dragster program.

Special awards were presented as decided by the votes which were mailed in. The Jr Rookie of the Year Award was earned by Chad Tallan. The Most Improved Jr Driver was presented to Austin Varner. Devon Hilton was recognized as the Jr Dragster Series Person of the Year and Grace Presser, who now has earned four Woodburn Dragstrip Jr Dragster Track Championships, was recognized as the Jr Driver of the Year.

RFC Chaplain , Al Lyda, led in an invocation prior to a delicious brunch enjoyed by all. Following brunch, the top three High School Series racers received their awards. Shawn Mayhew and Travis Hilton finished third and second, respectively. Philomath High School student and racer, Charles Stouder, earned the number one honor in the series and received his award as 2011 Canby
Transmission High School Series Champion. He received a voucher good for a transmission update and/or repair valued at $1000.

Winners of the 2011 Nostalgia Hot Rod Series, Dragster/Roadster Series, and Super Shifter Series were recognized. They are as follows:
Top Gas – Richard Dietrich
Hot Rod I – Paul Comeau
Hot Rod II – Jeff Enger
Street Machine I – Gregg Heriford
Street Machine II – Jim Lamkin
Inline/Flathead – Doug Powers
Stick Shift – Dick Arnold
Dragster & Roadster – Ron Austin Champion, Sammy Scott IV (2nd), Jamie Kerrigan-Mata (3rd)
Super Shifter – John Masterman

Top finishers in the Woodburn Dragstrip Les Schwab Tire Centers Sport Compact Challenge Series were recognized. They are as follows:
Sport Compact Sportsman – Derrick Jackson (8 time Sport Compact Sportsman Series Champion), “Hoppy” Hopkins (2nd)
Sport Compact Pro – Bernd Arndt (2 time Sport Compact Pro Champion)
William Breese (2nd), Bud Kuhns (3rd)

Todd Miller was recognized as the Pro Nostalgia Series Champion.

Cari Floyd and Lori Weber were recognized as the Woodburn Dragstrip Sunoco Race Fuels ET Series Team Captains as were team members as follows;

Juniors – Kyler Pitts, Justin Harmon, Dustin Day, Grace Presser, Emily Mix, and Travis Hilton.

Canby Transmission High School – Travis Hilton and Charles Stouder

Sunoco Race Fuels Motorcycle – Rick Tedder, 7 time Woodburn Dragstrip Track Champion, Roger Wolff

Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman – Judy Bergstrom, LaVonne Goodman, Stephanie Gross, Jerry Weber, Jerry Durant, Jr. Robert Glafka, Robert Schaffer, Sherry Wilson, John Floyd, Jr, Dave Wilson, *Tracy Herinckx, and 2011 Champion, **Derrick Jackson. *Special note should be made that Tracy Herinckx was voted by his peers and received the Most Improved Driver Award. **This is now Derrick Jackson’s 6th Sportsman Championship to go along with his 12 additional Woodburn Dragstrip Track Championships. Furthermore, Derrick is the 2011 NHRA Northwest Division Sportsman Champion.

Sunoco Race Fuels Pro – Marty Stewart, Cliff Mansfield, Tony McCauley, Hollis Runge, Al Salchenberg, Jim Goodman, Karl Hart, David Pracht, Ryan Schaefer, Matt Kielman, Eli Taghon, David Bronec, Pat Figini, Gene Bergstrom, John Maul, *Steve Stuart, and 2011 Champion, **Nick Shepherd. Special note is made of the fact that Steve Stuart is the 2011 NHRA Northwest Division Pro Champion. **Nick Shepherd has earned his 2nd consecutive Woodburn Dragstrip Pro Track Championship.

Sunoco Race Fuels Super Pro – Mike McManus, Scott Nicifero, Craig Tharp, Dan & Vicky Shepherd, Bill King, Travis Hilton, Gary Wargnier, Debbie Dawson, Dennis Weddle, Sadie Floyd, Mark Dawson, Matt Clausen, Robert Glembocki, Tom Avgerakis, Devon Hilton, John Floyd, Sr, Bill Heard, Danny Wargnier, Billy Taylor, * 2011 Champion, Dave Sattem. *Special note is made of the fact that as a result of the vote of his peers, Dave Sattem was selected as 2011 Woodburn Dragstrip Driver of the Year.

New for the Awards Brunch was the recognition of the 2011 Woodburn Dragstrip Track Lady of the Year. For her dedicated help and assistance wherever and whenever needed, Miriam Hilton is the recipient of the first Woodburn Dragstrip Track Lady of the Year Award.

Racers voted for the individual who would receive the Person of the Year Award. When the tally was complete, receiving the 2011 Woodburn Dragstrip Person of the Year Award is Danny Wargnier.

Congratulations to each and everyone. Woodburn Dragstrip acknowledges the amount of energy, time, and finances required by all devoted racers and fans of this sport. Without the support of our loyal sponsors, the quality of the racing program at Woodburn Dragstrip would be greatly diminished. Thanks to all for a very good year. We hope to see you again in 2012.

Comments are closed.