Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

K & N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown – Sunday, July 31, 2011

What an amazing Baxter Auto Parts, Sunbelt Rentals & BI-Mart sponsored Inaugural Night of Fire. Saturday, July 30th saw a packed house as the first night race in over 25 years took place. Featured cars included, Darin Bay driving Twig Zeigler’s Nostalgia Nitro Funny Car taking on Mark Sanders and the Mr Explosive Nova. On Bay’s first run he recorded a 5.87, 241.28 mph to Sanders 6.01. 206.37 mph. On there second run Sanders was the quicker one 5.84, 230.94 mph to Bay’s close 5.96 at 215.15 mph. The Northwest BB/FC Association had 9 of it’s members (Ron Huegli, Greg Howland, Don & Shane Harter, Matt Driscoll, Todd Swinford, Russ Parker, Royce Taylor, and Greg Borgens wowing the crowd with 1/2 track burnouts. There eliminations were run on Sunday with Ron Huegli being victorious over Greg Howland, Huegli ran closer to the self imposed 6.85 index; 6.85 at 201.56 mph to Howland’s losing 6.80 at 188 mph. In Top Alcohol Dragster Joey Severance recorded low ET with a 5.39 at 264.93 mph to Gregg Lawrence’s 5.44 at 259.66 mph. In Top Alcohol Funny Car Jeff Ashwell recorded a best of 5.87 at 243.24 mph while Jim Peter’s ran a best of 5.94 at 244.43 mph. In the Top Fuel Harley action Todd Ruggiero recorded a best of 7.27 at 194.13 mph while Steve Ruggiero ran 7.43 at 151.92 mph. The Brenneman Brothers (Justin & Adam) drove their Blown AFX cars to great runs of 8.84 at 162.24 mph for Justin while Adam ran a 9.10 at 165.86 mph. Ed Jone’s wowed the crowd with his Jelly Belly Firetruck with quarter-mile wheelstands. The Jet Dragsters driven by Richard Smith and Barry Richter recorded speeds over 280 mph on their runs. In Dragster/Roadster class Ron Austin wheeled his Slightly Twisted ’48 Fiat to the win in 8.782 seconds at 149.25 mph over Sammy Scott IV losing 9.441 at 136.86 mph.
K & N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown Results for Sunday, July 31st.
In the Electronics class Brad Plourd (Avon, IN) driving the Lucas Oil dragster of Charlotte Lucas took the win over a red-lighting Billy Taylor (Kelso, WA). Plourd used a .006 light and shut off run of 8.128 at 112.54 mph to Taylor’s loss of 9.426 at 144.23 mph. Devon Hilton from Vancouver, WA., was the only semi-finalist.
Derrick Jackson (McMinnville, OR) waded through 8 rounds of competition in the Non-Electronics class without having to buy back in to take the win over Steve Stuart (Estacada, OR). Jackson used a .016 reaction time and a run of 12.428 on a 12.42 dial at 105.69 mph as Stuart recorded a .027 reaction time and a run of 9.283 (9.27 dial) at 142.45 mph. Kory Alby from Coos Bay was the lone semi-finalist.
K & N Filters Ultimate Gambler Electronics Results for Sunday, July 31st.
Shane Molinari walked away with the Ultimate Gambler victory in the Electronics class taking the lions share of the $5,600 purse over an impressive finalist in Al Lyda. Lyda red lit his chances away with a -.009 and 9.210 at 146.74 mph while Molinari posted a winning 7.017 at 194.46 mph. Stefan Kondolay and Kevin Heffington were defeated in the semi-finals.
In the Ultimate Gambler Non-Electronics class Kory Alby used a better reaction time .027 and a run of 9.685 (9.66 dial) at 138.07 mph to defeat Michael Pliska’s breakout run of 9.513 (9.52 dial) at 137.80 mph. David Chun and Bryce Moilanen were defeated in the semi-finals.

Comments are closed.