Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Baxter Auto Parts/Bi-Mart/Sunbelt Rentals Night of Fire – K & N Filters ET Bracket Triple Crown – Saturday, July 30, 2011

What an amazing Baxter Auto Parts, Sunbelt Rentals & BI-Mart sponsored Inaugural Night of Fire. Saturday, July 30th saw a packed house as the first night race in over 25 years took place. Featured cars included, Darin Bay driving Twig Zeigler’s Nostalgia Nitro Funny Car taking on Mark Sanders and the Mr Explosive Nova. On Bay’s first run he recorded a 5.87, 241.28 mph to Sanders 6.01. 206.37 mph. On there second run Sanders was the quicker one 5.84, 230.94 mph to Bay’s close 5.96 at 215.15 mph. The Northwest BB/FC Association had 9 of it’s members (Ron Huegli, Greg Howland, Don & Shane Harter, Matt Driscoll, Todd Swinford, Russ Parker, Royce Taylor, and Greg Borgens wowing the crowd with 1/2 track burnouts. There eliminations were run on Sunday with Ron Huegli being victorious over Greg Howland, Huegli ran closer to the self imposed 6.85 index; 6.85 at 201.56 mph to Howland’s losing 6.80 at 188 mph. In Top Alcohol Dragster Joey Severance recorded low ET with a 5.39 at 264.93 mph to Gregg Lawrence’s 5.44 at 259.66 mph. In Top Alcohol Funny Car Jeff Ashwell recorded a best of 5.87 at 243.24 mph while Jim Peter’s ran a best of 5.94 at 244.43 mph. In the Top Fuel Harley action Todd Ruggiero recorded a best of 7.27 at 194.13 mph while Steve Ruggiero ran 7.43 at 151.92 mph. The Brenneman Brothers (Justin & Adam) drove their Blown AFX cars to great runs of 8.84 at 162.24 mph for Justin while Adam ran a 9.10 at 165.86 mph. Ed Jone’s wowed the crowd with his Jelly Belly Firetruck with quarter-mile wheelstands. The Jet Dragsters driven by Richard Smith and Barry Richter recorded speeds over 280 mph on their runs. In Dragster/Roadster class Ron Austin wheeled his Slightly Twisted ’48 Fiat to the win in 8.782 seconds at 149.25 mph over Sammy Scott IV losing 9.441 at 136.86 mph.
In the Electronics class (8 rounds of racing) Nick Nicholson who hails from Vancouver, WA used a .003 reaction time and a run of 8.675 (8.65 dial-in) at 152.54 mph to defeat the Mayor of Sandy, Oregon Bill King who had a .009 reaction time and a runner-up finish of 8.616 (8.59 dial-in) at 157.89 mph. Stefan Kondolay was the lone semi-finalist. In 8 rounds of competition Steve Kelly from Vancouver, WA took the win in the Non-Electronics class over John Floyd Jr from Gresham, OR. Floyd Jr. had the better reaction time (.018 to .035) but his 12.837 (12.90 dial-in) was to quick at 104.04 mph giving the win to Kelly 9.301 (9.24 dial-in) at 128.58 mph. Steve Stuart was the only semi-finalist.

Comments are closed.