Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

38th Annual Baxter Auto Parts/BI-Mart/99.5 The Wolf SEASON OPENER Results – May 21-22, 2011

The 38th Annual Baxter Auto Parts•Bi-Mart•99.5 The Wolf Season Opener is one for the record books. Clint Thompson set a new track Alcohol Funny Car ET record, with a 5.618 blast. New marks were established for both ends of the track records in AA/Supercharged. Howard Anderson set the new track ET record with an excellent 6.569 pass. Mitch Chamberlin recorded a top mile per hour mark at 211.91. In Northwest Drag Bike competition, Gary Christopher flew to a 6.719 at 204.45 mph for both ends of the Motorcycle Pro Mod record. Darin Bay’s Incinerator Jet dragster set a new personal best with a 5.134 blast at 309.59 mph.

Race action was exciting and intense as racers took advantage of the great traction on the new concrete surface and excellent air to produce some of the best launches and side-by-side passes in track history. Scott White defeated Mitch Chamberlin in the finals of AA/Supercharged due to Chamberlin crossing the center line in the traps and taking out the cones. Chamberlin fought to regain control but contacted the wall and actually skidded down the top of the wall and landed on the other side before cart-wheeling back onto the track and coming to a stop. It brought back memories of the “And They Walked Away” video from the early 80’s. That is exactly what Mitch did “He Walked Away”. The ’51 Chevy that set the mph record earlier today did not fare as well.

The finals of TA/FC saw Brian Hough down Clint Thompson in what could be a preview of Les Schwab Challenge to be held in July. Darin Bay, Barry Richter, and Richard Smith shook the tower like never before as they thundered to their personal best. Mark Wallace led qualifying in Pro Nostalgia with a 6.709 at 209 mph while Dewayne Sanders drove to victory. In “A” and Chris Marshall earned the “B” victory in his first venture on “asphalt”. Jeff Lilly, Eric Robinson, Don DePeel, and Maycee Blehm earned victories in the four Northwest Drag Bike classes.

The Northwest Super Comp Association saw rain stop Saturday’s event with Michael Peck, Jr, Tom Pappas, and Bob Woodruff remaining in competition. On Sunday, the Super Comp winner was Brandon Yoder over Dale Hrenko. John Floyd, Sr. defeated Greg Hehr in Super Gas while Jim Pappas was victorious over Paul Nero in Top Comp. Fadi Atiyeh drove his D/SA Ford Mustang to victory over the B/SA of Craig Bloom and Jamie Kerigan-Mata earned the victory in Dragsters and Roadsters. Danny Wargnier, Steve Stuart, and Derrick Jackson were triumphant in Super Pro, Pro, and Sportsman, respectively.

Complete results are listed here, with driver’s name, city, car, reaction time, elapsed time, miles per hour, and dial-in.

W: Scott White, Gearhart, OR (’41 Willys) .044 6.988 , 172.24.
R/U: Mitch Chamberlin, Orting, WA (’51 Chevy) – crossed center line

W: Brian Hough, Junction City, OR (’11 Mustang) .047, 5.652, 254.59.
R/U: Clint Thompson, Klamath Falls, OR (’11 Chevrolet) .035, 6.029, 209.35.

W: Barry Richter, Kenosha, WI Incinerator (Jet Dragster) .130, 5.134, 309.59.
R/U: Richard Smith, Bend, OR Black Rat (Jet Dragster) .129, 5.328, 298.50.

Pro Nostalgia “A”
W: Dewayne Sanders, Albany, OR(’98 Dragster) .046, 7.031, 166.20.
R/U: Todd Miller, Fairview, OR (Altered) .010, 7.349, 178.53.

Pro Nostalgia “B”
W: Chris Marshall, McMinnville, OR (’37 Fiat) .140, 7.279, 166.72.
R/U: George Moore, Redmond, OR (’23 T) .121, 10.620, 80.92.

NW Drag Bike Pro Mod
W: Jeff Lilly, Banks, OR (’73 Kawasaki) .038, 7.291, 190.11.
R/U: Kenny Dreer, Oregon City, OR (’80 Suziki) – foul.

NW Drag Bike Pro Street
W: Eric Robinson, Eugene, OR (’03 Hayabusa) .197, 8.075, 174.28.
R/U: Kerry Drost, Sherwood, OR (’99 Hayabusa) 1.246, 8.236, 179.10.

NW Drag Bike Quick 8
W: Don DePeel, Gladstone, OR (’74 Kawasaki) .102, 8.778, 148.98 (8.74 dial).
R/U: Nick Puhl, Port Orford, OR (’05 Super Matt) .130, 8.595, 8.60 (149.08 dial).

NW Drag Bike Motorcycle
W: Maycee Blehm, Salem, OR(’08 Yamaha) .064, 9.889, 130.17 (9.85 dial).
R/U: Eric Johns, Milwaukie, OR (’05 Kawasaki) – foul.

Top Comp
W: Jim Pappas, Roseburg, OR (’07 TNT ) .039, 8.777, 91.04 (6.76 dial).
R/U: Paul Nero, Eugene, OR (’06 Mullis) – foul.

Super Stock/Stock Combo
W: Fadi Atiyeh, Boring, OR (’71 Mustang) – 11.099, 118.52 (11.02 dial).
R/U: Craig Bloom, Gresham, OR (’69 Camaro) – foul.

Super Comp
W: Brandon Yoder, Gresham, OR (’03 Yancer) .011, 8.999, 148.95 (8.90 dial).
R/U: Dale Hrenko, Port Orchard, WA (’03 Undercover) – foul.

Super Gas
W: John Floyd, Sr, Happy Valley, OR (’27 Ford) .046, 9.882, 148.09 (9.90 dial).
R/U: Greg Hehr, Ravensdale, WA (’90 Camaro) – foul.

Dragsters & Roadsters
W: Jamie Kerrigan-Mata, LaFayette, OR (’32 Victoria Ford) .074, 10.275, 118.67 (10.20 dial).
R/U: David Gordon, Camas, WA (’60 FED) .341, 9.200, 142.18 (9.28 dial).

Super Pro
W: Danny Wargnier, Keizer, OR (’72 Vega) .004, 8.677, 156.71 (8.67 dial).
R/U: Roger Weddle, Brooks, OR (’68 Cuda) .025, 10.496, 127.78 (10.53 dial).
Semi’s: Dave Sattem, Camas, WA

W: Steve Stuart, Estacada, OR (’66 Chevelle) .094, 9.256, 133.01 (9.22 dial).
R/U: Robin Andress, Eugene, OR (’37 Ford) .096, 12.056, 110.22 (11.96 dial).
Semi’s: Tony Price, Tigard, OR

W: Derrick Jackson, McMinnville, OR (’67 Dodge A100) .053, 12.710, 102.84 (12.67 dial).
R/U: Sherry Wilson, Vancouver, WA (’65 Chevelle) – foul.
Semi’s: Robert Glafka, Battle Ground, WA; Marty Arrigotti, Portland, OR

Comments are closed.