Woodburn Dragstrip
7730 Hwy. 219
Woodburn, Oregon

Archives for the ‘Featured News’ Category

Don DePeel, Sunoco Race Fuels ET Motorcycle Champion

At the first Sunoco Race Fuels ET Motorcycle/Sled competition race, the riders in the final round were Don DePeel and Phil Lang. DePeel defeated Mark Adams while Lang eliminated Mike Graver to reach the final round. In that final, DePeel left with a starting line advantage of about .02, and never looked back running closer [...]

Chelbi Hageman; High School Champion

The High School category is one designed to give all students enrolled in high school with a state driver’s license to chance to race against other young adults. At the first race of the season, it was a matchup of the new and the experienced as Jake McGarry and Chevy Olson lined up.  McGarry, in [...]

Dustin Day; Jr Fast Champion

In the NAPA Auto Parts Jr Fast race of the year drivers featured are ages 13-17.  Carson Wheeler, like Russell Wilson, showed that there will be no sophomore slump for him, as he marched through the rounds taking out Pedro and Dustin Day on his way to the final.  On the other side of the [...]

Austin Varner; Jr Lightning Champion

In the NAPA Auto Parts sponsored Jr Lightning category, which is reserved for children ages 10-14, it was a family affair at the first point’s event as Austin Varner took down younger sister Liz in the final. A. Varner had a single pass in the first round before having his opponent break against him in [...]

Trevin Walberg; Jr Thunder Champion

The NAPA Auto Parts Jr Thunder category is one for young adults ages 8-10, allowed to run as fast as 8.90 seconds (12.90 for 8-9 year olds). At the first even, the featured racers in the final round were Ramon Vincent and Conner Rice.  Ramon’s journey to the final round had competition from Austin Weigel [...]

Devon Hilton; Dragster/Roadster Champion

The Dragster/Roadster category features the ‘old school’ nostalgic race cars. It is limited to 1969 or older front engine dragsters, or 1955 or older roadsters. This dose of nostalgia is always felt when this category runs it’s seven point’s races. At their first point’s race of the season, the final round was between Devon Hilton [...]

William Breese; Sport Compact Pro Champion

Sports Compact Pro offers spectacular racing action for vehicles 13.99 and quicker, running as a 4-Cylinder domestic or 4- or 6- cylinder import, and a dynamite close final round at the first points event on April 27th. Ken Schaffer took out Bernd Arndt in the first round, in which the drivers had .013 and [...]

Lori Weber earns Janet Lang Memorial Gracious Lady Award, Woodburn earns Be a Winner, Be a Member title at 2014 NHRA Division 6 Banquet.

It was a special moment at the NHRA Division 6 Awards Banquet when Lori Weber was awarded with the Janet Lang Memorial Gracious Lady Award.  The award, which is given to ladies of the sport who best display comradery and friendship across the Northwest, is voted on by fellow racers and crew in the Northwest [...]

Hoppy Hopkins; Sport Compact Sportsman Champion

The Sport Compact Sportsman category is one reserved for 4 Cylinder domestic or 4/6 cylinder foreign body vehicles.  After finishing second last year in Sport Compact Pro’s final points standings, Bud Kuhns was wanting to improve one position in the SC-Sm class. At the first event, he had to hope his racing machine would be [...]

Gary Palmateer; Top Gas Champion

Top Gas is a class for vehicles 1975 and older in which Electronics such as delay boxes and automated shifters are featured.  Bill King and Gary Palmateer were the two racers who made the first final round, providing an excellent start to the 2013 season.  King had to go through Mike Boyd, Ronald Weise, and [...]